SPECIAL COLLECTION: AUTOGRAPH LETTERS, 1580-1970
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, ca 1580-ca 1970, 5 m (A.L.S.)
This extensive collection of autograph letters from figures of social, intellectual and political importance in Western Europe and North America includes correspondence from military leaders such as Horatio Nelson, General W.T. Sherman and the Duke of Wellington. Some figures are represented by a small collection of letters, others by a single item. The Autograph letters have not yet been fully described; researchers wishing to trace correspondence should contact the Rare Books Department.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: BRITISH AND CANADIAN ARMIES IN CANADA, 1758-1891
For a century after the American Revolution and the peace of 1783, the military in Canada concerned itself almost exclusively with defence against the United States. During the War of 1812 successful defence against the United States was mostly attributable to the British regular regiments and the Royal Navy. In 1838 the regular garrison of British North America numbered over 13,000 men, but fell off to only about 3,000 in 1855 because of the high cost of maintaining such a force. The Militia Act of 1855 set up a new force of volunteers, not more than 5000 strong, which would be uniformed and armed and would undergo a short period of annual training. This volunteer force is the origin of the modern Canadian Army (Militia). The first Militia Act of the Dominion of Canada, passed in 1868, set up a Department of Militia and Defence and divided the country into military districts.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1758-1891, 16.5 cm (CH250.S227, CH99.S117/CH249.S226, CH6.S42, CH8.S45, CH345.S305, CH292.S252, CH335.S295
This collection of miscellaneous military documents can be broken down into three series: military administration and records; finances and supplies; and staff. Military records include reports of losses in the War of 1812 and in the Rebellion in Upper Canada, a copy of a report to the Duke of Wellington on the military administration of North America, 1825, and a document on the reconstruction of a monument to Sir Isaac Brock, 1840. Two volumes of army orders for Québec cover the period 1786-1796, while one for the Montréal Garrison Artillery spans 12-22 April, 1870. Finances, supplies, provisions and wages are the subject of a group of warrants, orders, receipts and documents, 1759-1858, while correspondence between the Canadian Army, the Department of the Interior, and David Ross McCord discusses compensation to members of the Red River Expeditionary Force, 1891. Staffing is documented by a census of the Montréal militia and of the Light Infantry and Grenadier Companies of the 1st Battalion, 1812, as well as by appointment letters, 1841.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: MILITARY PAPERS, 1710-1918
For most of its history, Canada has been defended by either French or English regular troops working in conjunction with local militia units. It was only in 1871 that the last British regulars left central Canada and the first Canadian regular army units were formed. Canadian forces were involved in the supression of the Northwest Rebellion of 1885, the Boer War of 1899-1902 and the First World War, 1914-1918. Although during the First World War the Canadian Corps was technically part of the British army it was commanded by a Canadian, Sir Arthur Currie and enjoyed some measure of autonomy. Until 1917, when conscription was instituted by the Borden government, the Canadian forces were made up entirely of volunteers.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1710-1918, 16 cm (M12953)
This collection primarily contains official documents pertaining to Canadian military history. These include orderly books, 1782-1783; general orders, 1786-1789, 1830-1851; roll book of No.3 Co. 3rd Victoria Rifles, 1875; correspondence of military officials concerning the career of Quarter Master Sergeant William Clarke, 1827-1841, legal dispositions and records of conviction of persons who aided deserters, 1798-1799; the rules and regulations of the Royal Montreal Cavalry, 1831; and the journal of the No. 3 Canadian General Hospital (McGill), 1915. The official financial records include warrants and correspondence authorizing the payment of soldiers, 1766-1786, 1806-1811; and a supply contract, 1794. Other papers include a diary of Marguerite Gault, 1914.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: NAPLES, UPRISING OF 1647
After 1503, Naples was ruled by Spain through a Viceroy. The seggi or municipal administration was dominated by the aristocracy, but there was a small popular representation. While the uprising of July 1647 was provoked by the high cost of living and by taxes, and ostensibly lead by a fisherman named Masaniello, it was in fact organized by Giulio Genoino, a lawyer who wanted the people's voice on the seggi to be equal to the patricians. The rebels attacked prisons and armouries, looted the houses of the nobility, and lynched unpopular persons. After a few days, a settlement was negotiated by the Cardinal Archbishop.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1740, 204 pp (H105.Bd282)
This manuscript account of the uprising Racconto della sollevazione di Napoli accaduta nell'anno 1647, was written in 1740.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: NETHERLANDS ARMY, 1814-1815
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1814-1815, 4 cm (H40.N)
These documents, largely in Dutch, concern the participation of Dutch troops in the Allied army before and at the battle of Waterloo. They comprise a narrative of the campaign of Ligny and Waterloo, a biographical note on General Briqueville, and an account of the composition of the Anglo-Dutch army in June 1815.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: ROCHEFORT EXPEDITION, 1757
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1757, 8 pp (New MSS)
This is an account of the Rochefort expedition during the Seven Year's War by a Major Gilbert.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: SEVEN YEARS WAR IN NORTH AMERICA, 1754-1763
In North America, war between Britain and France, had started in 1754. In 1759 the British embarked upon the decisive campaign of the war, the seizure of Québec City. The commander of the French defenders of the city was the Governor, the Marquis de Vaudreuil, although the key military commander was the Marquis de Montcalm. The British forces under James Wolfe captured the city after a battle on the Plains of Abraham where both Montcalm and Wolfe received mortal wounds. In 1763 the loss of the French empire in North America to the British was officially recognized by the Treaty of Paris.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1757, 1759, 2 cm (M22060)
This small collection consists of two documents: a manuscript journal, 8 May 1759-18 May 1760, of an officer in the 78th Highlanders includes a description of James Wolfe's campaign of 1759 and Lord Amherst's descent of the St. Lawrence, 1760, and a confirmation of a military order of the Marquis de Vaudreuil written by the Marquis de Montcalm, 25 July, 1757.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: WAR OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION, 1775-1781
In 1775, an American army under the command of General Robert Montgomery captured Montréal on behalf of the thirteen American colonies. Montgomery joined with General Benedict Arnold to lay seige to Québec city, however the attack ended in failure and by June of 1776 the Americans were driven from Montréal. The colonies issued their Declaration of Independence in 1776 and finally, after years of battle, England acknowledged the independence of the United States by the Treaty of Paris in 1783.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, Copies, 1776-1778, 3 cm (M22061)
The bulk of this collection consists of financial and administrative correspondence of American and British paymasters or commissary agents, mainly from their respective military commanders, George Washington, John Burgoyne, Friedrick von Riedesel and Guy Carleton. Other material in the collection is related to the American capture and occupation of Montréal including copies of the articles of capitulation, 1775 and letters from Benedict Arnold, concerning military intelligence information, 1775 and a directive to Col. J. Livingston instructing him to force his soldiers to pay their rent to Mlle de Ramezay, 1776.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Copies, 1775-1776, 174 pp (CH14.S50)
This is a transcript of a journal recording events in Canada between July 1775 and June 1776 relating to the Revolution.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: WAR OF 1812, 1812-1815
In 1812, the United States of America declared war on Great Britain, claiming that the latter had violated her neutrality. Most of the battles between the two countries took place in Canada and the northern United States. Canadian militia units participated in the war, along side the British regulars. Sir George Prevost, 1767-1816, was the governor-in-chief of the Canadas and the military commander in chief during the war. Sir Issac Brock, 1769-1812 was the military commander of Upper Canada and the provisional Lieutenant-Governor until his death at Queenston Heights in 1813. Other military officers included Major General Edward Baynes, the adjutant general and the commissary general, W.H. Robinson.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, Copies, 1812-1815, 6.25 cm (M22077)
The War of 1812 collection contains administrative and financial records of British and Canadian military forces. There are also some records concerning battles fought during the war. The administrative records consist of general orders, mostly from Major General Edward Baynes, 1812-1815; regimental and standing orders of the 5th Battalion of Militia, 1812-1813; and a list of Indian allies with name of tribe and number of warriors, 1812. The financial records include those of the office of Commissary General held by W.H. Robinson, which consist of payroll estimates and returns, 1812-1815; general accounts, 1811-1818; receipts issued for money and supplies, 1814; and a letter from Issac Brock requesting a saw, 1812. The records concerning military actions include two journals which describe land and sea battles in Upper Canada, 1813; and a letter written by Issac Brock to George Prevost describing his military situation the day before the Battle of Queenston Heights, 1813.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: WELLINGTON, ARTHUR WELLESLEY, DUKE OF, 1769-1852
Arthur Wellesley was born in Dublin in 1769. During the Napoleonic Wars, he commanded the British armies in Spain and Portugal, and commanded the Allied armies at Waterloo, earning the nickname "The Iron Duke". He was Prime Minister in 1831.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals and Printed, 1808-1851, 12 cm (Large MSS)
The greater portion of this collection consists of correspondence from Wellington concerning military and political matters, including thirty-nine letters during the period 1814 to 1851, four of which were written to Peel, 1826-1829; and documents relating to army finances during the Peninsular campaign, 1808-1830, including letters from military officers. There is also a printed copy of Wellington's speech in the House of Lords, 1830, on the composition of the Queen's household, with manuscript corrections in Wellington's hand, and Wellington's report of 1824 on the claims of the Brunswick government under the Treaty of Subsidy of 1815.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: WILLIAM III, KING OF ENGLAND, 1650-1702
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1694-1702, .25 cm (H24)
There are three warrants to Richard, Earl of Ranelagh concerning payment of troops, 1694-1697 and a signed document in Dutch concerning a Colonel Van de Ruyterye, 1702.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: WOLFE, JAMES, 1727-1759
Born in England, James Wolfe received his commission in the British army in 1741 and fought in Germany, Scotland and the Netherlands. He was promoted to the rank of lieutenant-colonel in 1750 and was named a colonel in 1756. By 1758 he was a brigadier-general and participated in the Louisbourg expedition. In 1759 he was made a major-general and the commander of the British land forces for the attack on Québec City. Although Québec City was captured Wolfe died from wounds inflicted on the Plains of Abraham.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, Copies, Microfilm, 1751-1765, 20 cm (M22059)
The James Wolfe papers are primarly concerned with his military career. There are letters to his uncle, Major Walter Wolfe, dealing with Gen. Edward Braddock's defeat, 1755, the capture of Louisbourg, 1758 as well as a signal acknowledgement from Amherst at Louisbourg, 1757 and Wolfe's dispatch to him concerning the Québec expedition in 1759. His writings consist of an elegy for Captain Gardiner, 1758 and a journal of his Québec campaign, 10 May-7 August, 1759. The journal documents the progress of the fleet to Québec, his vacillations concerning strategy and animosities amongst his staff members. Also included are a mathematics textbook, 1741 and correspondence of other Wolfe family members, 1745-1761. There are also historical pamphlets on Wolfe, 1901-1930 and material related to collections of Wolfe, including a catalogue, 1929, correspondence on Wolfe's kit dressing case, 1824, 1903 and the authenticity of various writings of Wolfe, 1936, 1971.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: WORLD WAR ONE, 1914-1918
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1916-1917, 2 cm (M22082)
The collection contains a manuscript of "An open letter to Mr. Henri Bourassa" written by his cousin Talbot Mercer Papineau, concerning Canadian nationalism and the War, 1916 and the last letter of Gordon Tupper (d.1917) to his father, Charles Hibbert Tupper, 1917.
AMHERST, JEFFREY, BARON, 1717-1797
Born in England, Jeffrey Amherst joined the British army as an ensign in 1731. He participated in European campaigns and in 1756 was promoted to the rank of lieutenant-colonel. In 1758, as a major general he commanded the expedition to Louisbourg and afterwards was made the commander-in-chief of British forces in North America. In 1760 he led his troops in the capture of Montréal and held the post of Governor General of British North America from 1760 to 1763. He was named the Governor of Virginia in 1763 and the Governor of Guernsay in 1770. During the American Revolution he advised the British government on military matters. In 1788 he was made a baron and in 1796 a field marshall.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1756, 1786, 4 pp (CH192.S170)
A letter from Amherst to Mr. Da Costa concerns his refusal to supply wagons for the campaign at Minden (1756); another discusses Ensign Eberhard's wish to sell his commission.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1760-1790, 1 cm (M22080)
The correspondence of Jeffrey Amherst concerns military matters 1760-1790. A letter to Lieutenant-Governor Henry Hamilton, 9 September, 1760, concerning the surrender of Montréal is of special interest.
BASTARD, WILLIAM B., fl 1854-1864
William Bastard was a Captain in the 90th Light Infantry of the British Army.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1854-1864, 3 cm (M159.Bd153)
This consists of a diary of William Bastard.
CAMPBELL, ROLAND PLAYFAIR, 1876-1916
Born in Montréal on 8 July 1876 R.P. Campbell was a demonstrator at McGill in pathology and assistant demonstrator in clinical surgery, 1907-1912, and lecturer in genito-urinary surgery ca 1912. Appointed Major in No.1 Canadian General Hospital in 1914, he served as O.C. (Lieutenant-Colonel) the 6th Canadian Field Ambulance. He died of wounds in 1916.
OSLER LIBRARY
Typescript, 1916, 57 pp (Acc. 16)
Confidential war diary, 6 April-10 September 1916 kept by Campbell while he was O.C., 6th Field Ambulance, Canadian Army Medical Corps, British Expeditionary Force in Flanders. It contains annotations by William Willoughby Francis.
CANADIAN ARMY, PRINCE OF WALES' ROYAL CANADIAN REGIMENT, 1896-
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1896-1897, 279 pp (Bd300)
These records relate to the formation of the Regiment.
CANADIAN ARMY, 148TH BATTALION, 1915-1917
Although not organized under McGill's authority, the 148th Battalion was closely associated with McGill University. The Commanding Officer, Colonel A.A. Magee, had been the Major of, and on active service in, the Officers' Training Corps of the University. Several of its officers and those in the ranks were McGill men. By resolution of Corporation, the 148th Battalion was given for training purposes the use of McGill's buildings and grounds, and was affiliated with the McGill C.O.T.C. Before its departure for overseas, its colours were formally deposited in the Redpath Library. The Battalion, consisting of 32 officers and 953 enlisted men, sailed overseas on 26 September 1916, to be absorbed as reinforcements by units already in the field.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1915-1917, 9 cm (Large MSS-Regimental Collection)
This material consists of the daily orders of the 148th Battalion during World War I.
CANADIAN GENERAL HOSPITAL, NO. 3 (McGILL), 1915
The Canadian General Hospital (McGill) was created in October 1914. It was the first hospital unit created by a university during World War I. Headed by Dr. Herbert Stanley Birkett, who was also Dean of Medicine at McGill, 1914-1921, the hospital had a staff that was composed of McGill personnel. It provided medical and surgical care to military personnel at Dannes-Camiers and Boulogne, France from June 17, 1915 until its closure on May 12, 1919.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1915 (M.G. 4062)
One daily order book, from 29 September 1915-3 December 1915, listing offices on duty and various orders. The orders are signed by Lt. Col. H.B. Yates and Lt. Col. John McCrae.
SEE SECTION VI. WAR AND THE MILITARY: GREAT WAR VETERANS' ASSOCIATION
CANADIAN OFFICERS' TRAINING CORPS, McGILL CONTINGENT, 1912-1966
The McGill Contingent of the Canadian Officers' Training Corps was established in 1912 to train students as militia officers. It's first commander was V.I. Smart, a McGill professor of railway engineering. The McGill C.O.T.C. was formally connected with the 148th (McGill) Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and associated with a number of other units. During the Second World War, the contingent's role was reduced to training officers for the Canadian army. Overall the McGill C.O.T.C. provided military training for more than 12,000 men.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials, Photographs, 1914-1966, 1.2 m (M.G. 4006)
The records of the C.O.T.C. fall into two groups, administrative and historical.
The administrative records consist of minutes, with some appended reports and correspondence. These include general meetings, 1941-52; officers' meetings, 1947; officers' mess, 1953-55; regimental meetings, 1953-58; regimental committee, 1942-49; mess committee, 1950-56; rifle committee, 1947; band committee, 1947-48; and the McGill C.O.T.C. Association (a social and recreational group) 1947-1958. There is also an address, probably by Col. A.A. Mage, to the Canadian Universities Conference in 1920, concerning C.O.T.C. in the university.
The bulk of the historical records are preserved in a series of scrapbooks. One series, covering 1914-1917, consists of newsclippings on C.O.T.C. and the 148th Ballalion. A second and more formal series begins in 1914 and continues through to 1939. Besides press clipping, these scrapbooks contain photographs, orders, invitations, copies of pamphlets, and other records such as the log book of the Ski Camp, 1935-1936. These scrapbooks were the model for the 8-volume Historical Record of the C.O.T.C. during World War II. These volumes contain a running chronology, orders, press extracts and clippings, statistics, photographs and personal reminiscences. The last volume is a service record of all C.O.T.C. members. This series is supplemented by two newsclippings scrapbooks for the period 1939-1942. A "Book of the Six Universities Companies" of the Princess Patricia Canadian Light Infantry was prepared for the unveiling of a memorial plaque after World War II. It contains a historical record and statistics. Printed records of the 148th Battalion, and a file of correspondence and programmes for the 1962 celebration of C.O.T.C.'s 50th anniversary complete this section.
CANADIAN PATRIOTIC FUND, MONTREAL BRANCH, 1899-1937
In 1899 the Canadian Patriotic Fund was established in Montréal to aid Boer War veterans and their dependents. The first national president was the Governor General, Lord Minto. The national fund was incorporated in 1914 to aid the needy wives, children and dependent relatives of Canadian soldiers fighting in the First World War. By 1916 it was providing assistance to 54,000 families across Canada with money gleaned through voluntary subscriptions. The Montréal branch held three fund raising campaigns during the war and was responsible for local relief activities. Sir Herbert Ames, the president of the Montréal branch, was also the honorary secretary of the national fund. The national fund raised and distributed almost fifty million dollars before being terminated in 1937.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, Printed, 1899-1924, 50 cm (Unaccessioned)
The administrative and financial records of the Canadian Patriotic Fund, Montréal branch relate to their fund raising and relief activities in Montréal. The administrative records include minutes of executive and general meetings, 1899-1904, 1914-1920; the minutes of the finance committee, 1914-1918; correspondence of the office of treasurer, 1915-1924; campaign scrapbooks, 1914-1917; and lists of the names and addresses of the volunteer fund workers for the 1917 campaign. The financial records consist of financial statements, 1914-1919; monthly statements, 1914-1919; and audited statements, 1920-1921.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1914-1915, 2.5 cm (CH370.S330)
This consists of letters concerning the fund, most of which are addressed to Lt-Col. F. Minden Cole.
CURRIE, ARTHUR WILLIAM, 1875-1933
SEE SECTION I. UNIVERSITY TEACHING AND RESEARCH
FEATHERSTONHAUGH, R.C., 1892-1949
SEE MCGILL ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS, RECORD GROUP 85
FORBES, DUNCAN STUART, 1889-1965
SEE SECTION I. UNIVERSITY TEACHING AND RESEARCH
GAULT, ANDREW HAMILTON, 1882-1958
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE
GAULT, MARGUERITE, fl 1904-1914
SEE SECTION VI. WAR AND THE MILITARY: SPECIAL COLLECTION: MILITARY PAPERS
George F. Glassco of Hamilton, Ontario, was the father of McGill graduate Gordon Bond Glassco (B.Sc. 1905), who served with the 2nd Universities Company of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, the Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry; and eventually in air-craft production and anti-submarine work.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1916, 1 item (M.G. 2038)
A telegram to George Glassco reports that Gordon Bond Glassco has been wounded in action.
GORDON, WILLIAM AUGUSTUS, 1739-1809
A son of Captain David Gordon of the 47th Regiment of Foot, William Augustus Gordon came to America with his father in 1750. In 1755 he became a lieutenant in the 40th Regiment of Foot, and fought at Louisbourg in 1758 and at the Plains of Abraham in 1759. Promoted to the rank of captain in 1770, he retired from the army in 1776. In 1773 he married Anna Maria Clerke and was the grandfather of General Gordon of Khartoum.
McCORD MUSEUM
Original, 1758, 2.5 cm (M235)
Gordon's journal covers the siege of Louisbourg and provides detailed descriptions of the siege, including orders, returns, casualty lists, maps and diagrams, 29 April to August 1758.
GREAT WAR VETERANS' ASSOCIATION, 1915-1925
SEE SECTION VIII, CULTURE, LITERATURE AND THE ARTS: WILLIAM DOUW LIGHTHALL
HARDINGE OF LAHORE, HENRY HARDINGE, 1ST VISCOUNT, 1785-1856
Henry Hardinge, soldier, politician and statesman, was born in Wrotham, Kent, England. His military career began in Upper Canada, where he was gazetted to the Queen's Rangers in 1799. Thence he rose, by purchase, to the rank of lieutenant (1802) and captain (1804) in foot regiments. In 1807 he graduated from the Royal Military College, and in the same year he joined Wellington in the Peninsular Campaign, where he earned promotions as major (1809) and lieutenant-colonel (1811). In 1815 he was created K.C.B. Following Napoleon's return from Elba, Wellington appointed Hardinge as British military commissioner to Prussian headquarters. During the final confrontation with Napoleon, Hardinge commanded a Prussian division, and lost his left hand in the battle of Quatre Bras.
Hardinge was elected Tory M.P. for Durham in 1820. He continued his association with Wellington as clerk of ordnance, and when Wellington became Prime Minister in 1828, Hardinge was appointed Secretary of War. He served as Irish Secretary for a short period in 1830, and again in 1834-1835 under Sir Robert Peel. In 1841 he was promoted lieutenant-general, and resumed the duties of Secretary of War until 1844, when he was named Governor-General of India. His victory in the First Sikh War (1845) won him his peerage, but his real achievements in India lay in the areas of economic development, particularly the introduction of railways and tea cultivation, of public education, and of enlightened cultural policy, especially towards the preservation of artistic monuments. Hardinge retired from India in 1848. On the death of Wellington in 1854, Hardinge succeeded his old friend as commander in chief of the forces. He was named field marshal the following year.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals and Copies, 1803-1856, 6 m and microfilm (Large MSS)
Hardinge's papers are divided into two series: manuscripts and correspondence. The manuscripts comprise about 550 documents, reports, memoranda, etc. relating to Hardinge's work as a career soldier and administrator. The Indian phase of his career is the least well covered. Many of these documents were written by others, such as the Duke of Wellington or Lord John Russell, though they contain Hardinge's marginal notes. Papers on the British Army cover such topics as religious services for soldiers, 1823-1844; the organization and reform of military supply departments, 1822-1830; an inquiry into British military education, 1822-1829; and the organization of the Medical Department, 1812-1828. Material on the Home Army covers the period 1814-1850 while material on Ireland, 1816-1843, concern not only the militia, but also more wide ranging economic, social and political issues, such as the commutation of tithes. Papers on British North America, 1815-1844, concentrate on defence of the St. Lawrence Valley and the Maritimes, with special emphasis on canals (Rideau, Lachine, Welland). The strength, distribution, health problems and pay of troops in India, 1846-1847; the fortification of Aden, 1825-1847; and military matters pertaining to the West Indies, Bermuda, Australasia, South Africa, Mauritius, China, the Iberian peninsula and the Crimea are also discussed. It should be noted that the Australian papers also contain a considerable body of civilian population statistics. Hardinge's files also contain materials on military finance, particularly army estimates, 1826-1844; half-pay and pensions, 1812-1832; pay and allowances, 1827-1841; and the finances of the War Office, 1803-1847. Finally, a section of miscellaneous papers includes addresses by {Hardinge, memorials of civil and military officers, cases of military discipline, proposals for new weaponry, and some documents on the reorganization of the government in 1827. The only items of personal interest concern the duel between Wellington and Lord Winchelsea, in which Hardinge was Wellington's second.
The Hardinge correspondence is of much the same character as the manuscripts. It comprises over 2,000 letters, the largest blocks falling in the periods 1828-1831, 1842-1844, and 1852. There is a particularly substantial body of letters from Wellington and Lord Londonderry.
Supplementing these papers is a microfilm of Hardinge materials in Cambridge University Library. These place more stress on the Indian period, with a large number of letters from Sir Robert Peel.
Born in Ireland, William Johnson (1715-1774) came to America in 1738. In 1752 he inherited Admiral Sir Peter Warren's estates in the Mohawk valley of New York and in 1755 was named as the superintendant of Indian affairs for New York. He was knighted for his military exploits during the Seven Years War. His son, Sir John Johnson (1742-1830) a prominent loyalist, organized and led the King's Royal Regiment during the American War of Independence. After the war he came to Canada where he became a large landowner and seigneur of Argenteuil. In 1783 he was given the post of Superintendant General of Indian affairs in British North America. In 1787 he was named to the Legislative Council of Quebec and in 1796 to the Legislative Council for Lower Canada. In 1773, John Johnson married Mary Watts; they had eleven children including John, Maria and James. John, who became a military officer, lived in Chambly, Québec. Maria married Major-General Barnard Bowes who had her brother, Brigade Major James Johnson under his command during the Peninsular War. Both men were killed in the course of the campaign.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1754-1886, 8 cm (M21410)
The bulk of the Johnson papers consists of correspondence received by Maria Johnson Foord Bowes from her husband Major General Barnard Foord Bowes and her brother Brigade Major James Johnson describing battles in the Peninsular War (1811-1812). Also included are several items of interest from other members of their family: a letter from Col. John Bradstreet to William Johnson concerning Indian affairs and his proclamation making public the Royal Proclamation, 1763; some incoming political correspondence to Sir John Johnson, 1785; a 1832 letter to his son John asking for electoral support; the 1817 deed of sale of a farm owned by Sir John; an 1830 lease for land on the Rideau Canal to John; and an inventory of his estate, 1841.
Director of the McGill Observatory from 1922 to 1943, Albert J. Kelly, was well-known to the public as weatherman and also as timekeeper for the nation's railroads and many of its industries. Born in Edmonton, he graduated from McGill University with his B.Sc. in 1911. He joined the staff at McGill University in 1912 as assistant to the Prof. C.H. McLeod, both at the observatory and in the department of surveying and geodesy. He later served as Assistant Professor of surveying from 1919 to 1929, as Associate Professor from 1930 to 1943, and as chairman of the Department of Surveying and Geodesy form 1940 to 1943.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials, Photographs, 1914-1945, 7 cm (M.G. 3054)
Apart from some personal and obituary materials, Kelly's papers concern his career as an infantry officer in Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry during World War I. A pocket diary records his experiences in 1918 and a copy of a photograph album shows scenes around Mons in 1914. Printed souvenirs, Christmas cards, certificates and medals supplement these documents. Other photographs show Kelly and his family, and the McGill Observatory.
Entering the North West Company in 1790, William McKay had become a partner by 1796. After being in charge of the posts at Lake Winnipeg (1799) and Portage La Prairie (1805) he retired from the fur trade in 1807. He became a member of the Beaver Club in Montréal and in 1808 married Eliza Davidson. He fought in the War of 1812 and led the British forces to victory at Prairie-du-Chien. After the war he became a lieutenant-colonel and was appointed the Superintendant of Indian Affairs at Drummond Island, Upper Canada (now Michigan). Captain Thomas Anderson served under McKay at Drummond Island as a storekeeper, clerk and interpretor. Drummond Island was occupied by British troops in 1815 but returned to the Americans in 1828.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, Copies, 1810-1878, 8 cm (M22066)
The William Mackay papers mainly consist of military records such as commissions, 1813-1814, correspondence with Lt. Col. Robert McDouall pertaining to military strategy at Prairie-du-Chien and the importance of Indians as a military force, 1814-1815 and copies of correspondence of Capt. Thomas Anderson with Lt Col. Robert McDouall on military actions, supplies and Indian relations, 1814-1815. The other portion of his papers is made up of notebooks pertaining to his tenure as Superintendant of Indian Affairs at Drummond Island from 1816 to 1823.
A Baltimore businessman, John McKee was arrested by the American government in 1863 on the charge of shipping goods to the Confederacy. He was imprisoned in Fort Lafayette, which was located in the harbour of New York. Although he was released from prison in the spring of 1864 his former fellow prisoners continued to write to him, asking for provisions, his aid in business matters and giving news of prison life. Soon after, he moved to Montréal and by 1865 was a general shipping and commission merchant in Liverpool.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1855, 1863-1865, 20 cm (Unaccessioned)
The bulk of the John McKee papers reflects the experience of prisoners of war in Fort Lafayette, New York with some material which document his private life. They consist of correspondence to John McKee and to a family friend, Mrs Henry Barling, from prisoners of war such as George M.D. Stoll, J. William Davis and John T. Prichard, 1864. Prisoners' writings and a manuscript entitled "Fort Lafayette Life, 1863-1864 by a Young Lady" provide more details of prison life. There is also correspondence from his daughter, Mary T. McKee while she was a student at the Convent of the Visitation, 1855 and his personal receipts for clothing and hotels, 1864-1865.
McNAUGHTON, ANDREW G.L., 1887-1966
Andrew McNaughton, scientist, soldier and statesman, was born in Moasomin, Saskatchewan. He earned his B.A. from McGill in 1910 and an M.Sc. in 1912. From 1912 until 1914 McNaughton lectured in the Department of Electrical Engineering. At the outbreak of World War I, he organized the 4th Battery, Canadian Field Artillery, and went overseas with the First Canadian Contingent. McGill awarded him an honorary LL.D. in 1921. In 1935 he was appointed chairman of the National Research Council. McNaughton was called to be commander of the Canadian Corps in 1940, and served as Minister of National Defence from 1943 until 1945. He became Canada's representative to the U.N. Atomic Energy Control Commission in 1946, and was chairman of the International Joint Commission until 1962.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Copies, Printed Materials, 1907-1963, 18 cm (M.G. 3071)
McNaughton's papers cover his years as a student and instructor at McGill, his army work during the first years of World War II, and his involvement in Canadian-American relations in the early 1960's.
Materials from his McGill years include student lecture notes on electrical measurements, 1907, and mechanics, 1908-1909, a copy of his M.Sc. thesis on the dielectric strength of air, 1912, and two talks given to the McGill Electrical Club on high voltage, 1912, and on air as an insulator, 1913. Six files of notes, drafts, charts and some correspondence documents McNaughton's publications and inventions in the field of electrical insulation and transformers between 1912 and 1914.
Apart from C.O.T.C. lectures in artillery, 1913, most of McNaughton's military papers date from 1939 to 1943. They consist entirely of typescript and printed reports and manuals by McNaughton on artillery and ballistics. Canadian-American relations are the subject of McNaughton's address to the Royal Canadian Institute on the St. Lawrence Seaway, 1961, and a reprint of his article in International Journal, 1962-1963, on the proposed Columbia River Treaty.
SEE SECTION XIII. TRAVEL AND EXPLORATION
MONTECUCCOLI, RAIMONDO, 1608-1681
Raimondo Montecuccoli was one of the outstanding strategists of the 17th century. Born in Modena, Italy, he began his military career in Germany, in a regiment of Imperial dragoons. His successes in various engagements in the Thirty Years' War brought his rapid advancement to the rank of field marshall. In 1657, the Emperor sent him to Poland to help reinstate King John Casimir, and in the following year he joined the Elector of Brandenburg to help the King of Denmark. His most famous campaign, however, was waged against the Turks in Transylvania (1661-1664). From 1672 to 1675 he commanded the Imperial Forces against the French under Turenne. Turenne's death gave Montecuccoli the ultimate victory, but he retired immediately due to ill health. He passed the remainder of his life in Vienna, devoting himself to his studies and to composing his memoirs published in 1708.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, n.d. (ca 18th cent.), 5 cm (M109.Bd103)
These two volumes of Afforismi dell'Arte Bellica lasciati per eterna memoria del Gran Generale Principe Montecucoli are possibly extracts from his memoirs.
MUNRO, JOHN AND HENRY, 1685-1855
A native of Scotland, John Munro (1731-1800) came to America in 1756 to fight in the Seven Years War. After the war he became a merchant-trader and a large land owner near Albany, New York. A leading Tory, he was a captain in the 1st Battalion of the King's Royal Regiment of New York during the Revolutionary War. In 1784 he came to Canada as a loyalist and settled in what became the Lunenberg district of Upper Canada. Leaving his family in Canada, John Munro spent the next three years in England lobbying in vain for adequate compensation for the property which he had lost in New York. However, he received land grants in the Eastern District and in 1792 was named to the Legislative Council of Upper Canada. His son, Henry Munro (1770-1854) joined the North West Company as a surgeon in 1796 and served at the Grand Portage and the Pic fur trading posts.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, Copies, 1685-1855, 12 cm (M20345)
The John Munro papers pertain to his military career and his re-settlement in Canada as a loyalist.
The Henry Munro papers mainly concern his private life and business interests in land. It consists of correspondence, from his brother-in-law Chartier de Lotbinière, 1808-1809; a brother, 1802-1805; and a nephew, 1821-1824; containing family and domestic news and a letter from John Strachan on the impoverished state of his sister-in-law Frances Munro, 1811. His land dealings are documented by land grants in Upper Canada, 1796-1797 and correspondence from George Hay in Ottawa concerning land sales, taxes and mortgage payments, 1854-1855. The papers also contain some legal papers of the Seigneury of Boucherville, including leases, sales and land transfers, 1685-1809.
The military material of John Munro contains copies of letters of recommendation, 1780-1785, a master roll and a comptroller's roll for his regimental battalion, 1782, correspondence from his family in Canada describing their living conditions, 1785, and from James Laing concerning economic and political news, n.d.
Born in Scotland, James Murray held the post of military governor of Québec from 1760 to 1764 and was appointed as the first civilian governor in 1764. An advocate of a policy of conciliation towards the French Canadians, Murray was quite unpopular with the English merchants. He kept his post until 1768 and later served as the lieutenant-governor (1774) and governor (1779) of the island of Minorca. In 1783 he was made a general.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1766-1689, 5 items (M22060)
The James Murray papers consist of four outgoing letters and one financial document pertaining to his military career. SEE ALSO SECTION VI. WAR AND THE MILITARY. SPECIAL COLLECTION: SEVEN YEARS WAR IN NORTH AMERICA.
QUEEN'S LIGHT DRAGOONS, 1837-1949
The Queen's Light Dragoons, a militia calvary unit, was raised in 1837. The Dragoons saw active service during the Rebellions of 1837-1838, and during the next decade were often called out by the government to quell election riots. The unit was disbanded in 1849. The commander of the Dragoons was Thomas Walter Jones a Montréal born doctor who had received his medical training at Edinburgh.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1838-1860, 37 cm (M12131, M12228, M17889)
The Queen's Light Dragoons papers contain the administrative and financial records of the unit. The administrative records include a letterbook of correspondence with military officials concerning troop additions and general orders, 1844-1850; a ledger which documents the crimes and punishments of soldiers, 1839-1841; an orderly book which details the day to day activities of the regiment, 1838-1841; and general orders, paylists, standing orders, troop lists, 1838-1850. The financial records include regimental ledgers which document the names, pay and allowances of the soldiers, 1842-1850; and paylists, accounts and acquisitions, 1838-1850.
The private papers of Captain Thomas Walter Jones deal with his military career and his subsequent attempts to obtain a position from the government. His military career is represented by commissions, 1831-1838; commendations and testimonials, 1838-1855; and correspondence from William Kingsford concerning historical material on the Queen's Light Dragoons, 1854. His requests for government employment are reflected by correspondence from military officials, 1854-1860.
RHODES AND TUDOR HART FAMILY, 1774-1975
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE
RIEDESEL, FRIEDRICH ADOLPHUS VON, 1738-1800
Born in Hesse, Germany, Friedrich Adolphus von Riedesel became an officer in the army of the Duke of Brunswick. In 1776 he was made a major-general and appointed the commander of the German mercenaries sent by the Duke of Brunswick to fight on the British side in the American War of Independence. His troops were stationed, for a time, in Québec. After the war he returned home. In 1787 he was made a lieutenant-general and in 1792 the commandant of the city of Brunswick.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1776-1783, 7.5 cm (M22081)
The von Riedesel papers consist of correspondence with Assistant Commissary General Jonathan Clarke, military surgeon, H.A. Kennedy and Adam Mabane, the chief political advisor of Governor Frederick Haldimand, 1776-1783, pertaining to his role as commander of the Duke of Brunswick's mercenary troops.
Lieutenant-Colonel Joseph Robinson emigrated from Virginia to the Island of St-John, later known as Prince Edward Island.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1797, 6 pp (CH204.S182)
This is a copy of a memorial on Robinson's services.
SARROBERT, PIERRE FRANCOIS, fl 1749-1755
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originaux, 1749-1755, 1 cm (CH336.S296, CH32.S68, CH35.S69)
Ce fonds comprend divers ordres militaires et d'autres documents et lettres dont les ordres de transfert du commandement au poste de Camouestigia à M. de St-Vincent (1754) et des ordres de faire une reconnaissance au Lac St-Sacrement et "au petit seaut" (1755).
Born in Scotland, John Schanck joined the British navy in 1758. In 1777 he was a lieutenant and in command of the naval bases on Lake Champlain and the Great Lakes. In October he led British naval forces to a victory over an American flotilla on Lake Champlain. He was promoted to the rank of captain in 1783 and became an admiral in 1821.
McCORD MUSEUM
Original, 1779-1780, 2 cm (M7112)
These papers consist of a letterbook concerning naval matters, 1779-1780
SCRIMGER, FRANCIS ALEXANDER CARRON, 1881-1937
SEE SECTION IV. MEDICINE AND SCIENCE
SMITH, W. RICHMOND, COLLECTION, 1904
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1904, 6 cm (H78.Bd72)
This collection consists of letters and documents collected by Smith while acting as correspondent of "The Standard" during the Russo-Japanese war, 1904. Included are several communications from the Japanese General Staff.
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1781, 1 p (H108)
This printed document giving the protection of His Majesty's Government to Benjamin Tyler of Norfolk County is signed by Benedict Arnold.
URQUHART, HUGH MacINTYRE, 1880-1950
Lt. Col. H.M. Urquhart commanded the 16th Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force in World War I, and was awarded the M.C. and D.S.O. In 1932 he published a history of the Battalion, and in 1950 a biography of Sir Arthur Currie.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Copies, 1934-1949, 12 cm (M.G. 4027)
Research materials for the Currie biography comprise 8 cm of copies of Currie's correspondence, largely from the post-war years, and 4 cm of copies of replies from military men to Urquhart's appeals for information about Currie, 1934-1949.
VICTORIA RIFLES OF CANADA, MONTREAL, 1861-1961
The Victoria Rifles Company was organized in Montréal in 1861 by members of the Beaver Lacrosse Club in response to the strain in Anglo-American relations brought on by the American Civil War. In 1862 the Rifles were officially recognized as a Canadian militia unit under the name, the Third Battalion Victoria Volunteer Rifles. The first commanding officer was Major William Osborne Smith. The battalion participated in the defence against the Fenian raids of 1866 and 1870 and its members also served in the Boer War, mainly in the Second Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment. In the First World War three overseas battalions were recruited from the Rifles, the 24th under Lt. Col. J.A. Gunn, the 60th under Lt. Col. F.A. Gascogne and the 244th under Lt. Col. F.M. McRobie. During the Second World War the 1st Battalion was broken up to supply reinforcements in England while the Second (Reserve) Battalion remained in Canada. The battalion also acted as an aid to the civil power during the 1885 Montréal smallpox epidemic, a strike in Valleyfield, Québec in 1900 and at the 1903 dock labourers strike in Montréal. At the end of the Second World War the battalion was re-organized as a militia unit under the command of Lt Col. R.L. Grant and later, Lt. Col. George Ross Robertson.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1866-1961, 1 m (Unaccessioned)
The archive of the Victoria Rifles of Canada consists of administrative records and scrapbooks which document the history of the Rifles. The administrative records include attestation registers, with names and other personal information of the men who enlisted in the battalion, 1887-1954; officers' service records, 1940-1944; and officers' duty roster, 1933-1948 with a list of enlisted men. Scrapbooks deal with the military and social activities of the Rifles, 1866-1950, and its 100th Anniversary with photos and letters from political figures, newspaper clippings and historical notes, 1961.
Colonel Hugh Wallis was born in San Francisco and educated at University of Toronto. He served overseas in World War I, was twice mentioned in dispatches, and was awarded the D.S.O. and M.C. From 1924 until 1953 he was managing director and president of Mount Royal Rice Mills, but he maintained his military connection as Colonel and Commandant of the Black Watch in Canada, 1930-1931, and as Honorary A.D.C. to the Governor-General, 1931-1935. During World War II, he served as Colonel A.D.A.G. and was awarded an O.B.E. Wallis is an active patron of Lakefield Preparatory School, Trent University, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, and numerous social and military associations.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials and Photographs, 1908-1977, 3 m (M.G. 2039)
Wallis' papers are grouped into three series: general scrapbooks, military scrapbooks, and military diaries. General scrapbooks, covering the years 1908-1977, contain letters, photographs, and printed materials relative to Wallis' career. Some volumes include his diary for the period, and all are heavily annotated. They cover all aspects of his career from high school to post-retirement, with special emphasis on his military career and social life. Military scrapbooks contain the same variety of materials for the period 1911-1969, but are devoted exclusively to Wallis' activities during the two World Wars, and his roles in the Black Watch and as an Honorary A.D.C. Military journals give brief reports of his daily activities form 1941 to 1945.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1838, 1 p (New MSS)
This appointment of Robert M. Watson as Second Lieutenant in the Brockville Artillery Company is signed by Sir George Arthur, Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada.
Wolfe was an army officer from Westerham, Kent, England.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1754-1761, 560 pp (H77.Bd68)
This is the pay ledger for Wolfe's Regiment of Marines.
WOMEN'S WAR REGISTER COMMITTEE, 1916-1917
In 1916 the Women's Canadian Club of Montreal formed a committee to compile a register of unemployed English-speaking women in the city willing to work as replacements for enlisted men. This Women's War Register was modelled on similar groups in Great Britain and Toronto, and functioned until the end of the War. Its chairman was Ethel Hurlbatt, Warden of Royal Victoria College.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Carbon Copies, Printed Materials, 1916-1917, 35 cm (M.G. 4003)
The files of the Women's War Register Committee contain minutes and memoranda on the establishment of the Committee, lists of registered women, correspondence with analogous groups, with potential employers, and with individual women, memoranda regarding employers or liaison with other bodies engaged in war work, some accounts and invoices, and newspaper clippings about women's work in war-time.