SPECIAL COLLECTION: AUTOGRAPH LETTERS, 1580-1970
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, ca 1580-ca 1970, 5 m (A.L.S.)
This extensive collection of autograph letters from figures of social, intellectual and political importance in Western Europe and North America includes correspondence from a few men prominent in the fields of business and economics, such as Lord Beaverbrock, Andrew Carnegie and Sir William Van Horne. Some figures are represented by a small collection of letters, others by a single item. The Autograph Letters have not yet been fully described; researchers wishing to trace correspondence may contact the Rare Books Department.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: CHAMPLAIN and ST. LAWRENCE RAILROAD CO., 1832-1864
The first railway built in Canada was the Champlain and St. Lawrence Railroad, constructed in 1836 in Lower Canada between La Prairie and St-Jean. By 1851 the line was extended from St-Jean to Rouses Point, New York, and in 1852 from St-Jean to St. Lambert. In 1864 the line was leased to the Grand Trunk Railway.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals and Printed Materials, 1852-1876, 2 cm (CH386.S350, CH12.S48, CH115.S134)
The greater portion of these papers consists of 22 manuscript and printed legal documents concerning the railway for 1855-1856. These include lists of stock holders, protests against the Bank of Montréal and against the Massachusetts and New York Railway Company, 1856, lists of expropriations for the Lachine Canal enlargement, a statement of the railway's account with John Rose, 1856, and F. Griffin's opinion, drawn up for the Bank of Montreal, on railway matters, 1855.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: COLBORNE, JOHN, 1st BARON SEATON, 1778-1863
Colborne was Lieutenant Governor of Upper Canada from 1828 to 1836.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1837-1838, 1 cm (CH73,S91, CH192.S170, CH91.S109)
Three letters from Seaton relating to the Rebellion including a letter to General Fitzroy Sommerset about the capture of St-Eustache.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: GRAND TRUNK RAILWAY CO., 1852-1919
The Grand Trunk Railway Co. was incorporated in 1852-1853 to construct a railway in eastern Canada. Among the twenty-six incorporators of the railway were Peter McGill, Georges Etienne Cartier, L.H. Holton, D.L. Macpherson and A.T. Galt. The main line between Montréal and Toronto was opened in 1856; a line to Lévis had been opened in 1854. By 1859 the company had completed a large system of railways extending from Lake Huron to Rivière du Loup and to the Atlantic seaboard at Portland, Maine. Later the company went on to extend its lines in Ontario, as well as to acquire connections with the New England states. Finally, in 1905, the Canada Atlantic Railway was absorbed, connecting the main line with Ottawa. However, largely as a result of an unsuccessful venture to tap the growing traffic of the Prairies by which the company had incurred large liabilities in connection with its subsidiary, the Grand Trunk Pacific, the Grand Trunk was taken over by the Canadian government in 1919.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1859-1895, 14.5 cm (CH120.S140, CH4.S40)
These records include the letterbook of the Engineer's Department of the Midland Division, 1885-1895, and two documents connected with the case of Duncan McDonald vs Grand Trunk Railway, 1859, 1873.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: HEMP CULTIVATION, 1813
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1813, 15 pp (New MSS)
These letters and other documents deal with the growing of hemp in Lower Canada.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: HUDSON'S BAY COMPANY, 1670-
A corporation established in 1670, the Hudson's Bay Company was granted a trading monopoly by the British Crown over most of western and northern Canada. The Company encountered opposition from French fur traders and later from the North West Company. The monopoly of the Company seemed assured when it merged with the North West Company in 1821; however, the Company's position was soon threatened by the demand for free trade and the encroachment of settlers. In 1870, the Hudson's Bay Company sold all of its territorial rights to the Canadian government. The Company still continues to do business in Canada as a trading entity.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, Photocopies, 1808-1862, 8 cm (M22064)
The business records of the Hudson's Bay Company consists of two major series: the journals and letterbooks of chief factors John Thomas, 1808-1810, James Russell, 1815-1817 and Robert Miles, 1856-1857 which concern their business activities and the socio-economic activities of fur trading posts; and the minutes of the Hudson's Bay Company councils of the northern department, 1822 and southern department, n.d., of Rupert's Land which deal with the business of the departments. Also included is a deed poll which outlines the rights and duties of the chief factors and traders of the Company, 1834.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: NORTH WEST COMPANY, 1783-1821
The North West Company was a fur-trading organization formed over the course of the first decades following the British conquest of Canada. It was not a chartered company like the Hudson's Bay Company, but a syndicate of a number of individual fur-trading firms. Later, however, it came to be dominated by the Montréal partnership of McTavish, Frobisher and Co. (later McTavish, McGillivrays and Co.). Although there are references to a North West Company as early as 1776, the first documented union of interests was a 16-share concern formed in 1779. However, a new agreement drafted in 1783 is commonly considered to have inaugurated the Company. The expansion of the North West Company's trade was rapid: in the person of Alexander Mackenzie, it reached to the Arctic Ocean in 1789 and to the Pacific in 1793. After 1812, the Company faced intense competition from the Earl of Selkirk, who had acquired a controlling interest in the Hudson's Bay Company. Although the North West Company defeated Selkirk in the courts, its financial position had deteriorated by 1820, and in 1821 it was absorbed by the Hudson's Bay Company.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, ca 1783-1829, 8 cm (APPM259/35, M4451, M14,449-50, M22065)
The records of the North West Company include a partnership agreement, 1796, a deed of admission, 1816, financial accounts of partners with various associated companies in the Northwest, 1805-1828, bills of lading, 1802, 1806, and employee contracts, 1802, 1804. Included with this collection is a minute book of the Beaver Club, 1807-1827, and David Thompson's meteorological journal, 1829.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1790-ca 1826, 1 cm (CH147.S17, CH148.S18, CH169.S151, CH367.S327)
This material comprises a group of official documents, and correspondence among various partners. The official documents include four articles of agreement for partnership between various Montréal companies, largely with McTavish, Frobisher and Co., 1790-1802, and a memorandum on the effect of exchange differences on the partners' shares (ca 1826). The partners' correspondence, ca 1792-1808 contains letters from Simon McTavish, Isaac Todd, and Alexander Mackenzie concerning provisions, business agreements and loans. A letter from William McGillivray to Mr Justice Reid discusses family matters.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: QUEBEC CITY, 1687-1777
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1687-1777, 2.5 cm (CH62.S82, CH105.S123, CH118.S138, CH122-5.S142-5)
Various legal documents about successive sales of property in Rue Ste Anne, Québec City.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: RAILWAY ACCOUNTS, 1836-1850
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1836-1850, 3.5 cm (Bd293)
Account book for the London Grand Junction Railway, London Dock Company and other engineering projects in England.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: RAILWAYS, 1869-1959
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals and Copies, 1869-1959, 10 cm (H177)
Correspondence of the Toronto and Nipissing Railway, 1869 and maps, newspaper clippings and reports on various other railways.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: RIDEAU CANAL, 1841-1843
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1841-1843, 25 pp (CH273.Bd228)
Notes on the Rideau Canal's traffic.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: SAINT GERVAIS, LOWER CANADA, 1799-1806
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1799-1806, 1 cm (CH272.Bd227)
Book of memoranda on road making and farming at Saint Gervais, 1799-1806.
COLLECTION SPÉCIALE: SEIGNEURIE DES MILLE-ILES, 1714-1852
La Seigneurie des Mille-Iles était située à environ 60 kilomètres au nord-ouest de Montréal et reçut son nom de la rivière des Mille-Iles, un embranchement de l'Outaouais. La famille Lambert-Dumont en était les seigneurs.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originaux, 1714-1852, 25 cm (CH212.S190)
Les documents relatifs à la Seigneurie des Mille-Iles comprennent des descriptions du domaine, ca 1800 et ca 1852, des rapports sur les limites des possessions des Dumont et des DeBellefeuille, 1795, 1844, et des recommandations sur la réparation d'églises, 1791.
COLLECTION SPÉCIALE: SEIGNEURIE DE VAUDREUIL, 1714-1819
Située à 42 kilomètres à l'ouest de Montréal, la Seigneurie de Vaudreuil était originalement la propriété du Marquis Philippe de Rigaud de Vaudreuil, le Gouverneur général de la Nouvelle France de 1703 à 1725. Son fils, Pierre de Rigaud, le dernier gouverneur de la Nouvelle France, dut abandonné le territoire aux Britanniques en 1760.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originaux, 1714-1819, 2 cm (CH235.S213)
Cette collection comprend surtout des lettres et des documents concernant la propriété foncière et l'église de la Seigneurie de Vaudreuil, de 1721 à 1773. On y retrouve 12 lettres du Marquis de Vaudreuil à Chartier de Lotbinière, 1772-1779. On y retrouve également des extraits de divers contrats de ventes de terre, 1819, et un certificat de sépulture de Philippe de Rigaud, Marquis de Vaudreuil, 1725.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: SELKIRK, THOMAS DOUGLAS, EARL OF, 1771-1820
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1811-1816, 1 cm (CH194.S172)
These are letters from Selkirk to Miles MacDonnell, 1811-1813 and instructions concerning wages and contracts. There is also a letter to Colonel Benjamin Walker, 1816.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: SHIP WRECKS, 1856-1898
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1856-1898, 302 pp
A handwritten register documents ship wrecks in the St. Lawrence River, in the region of Québec City, between 1856 and 1898.
ANONYMOUS: MILL, EASTERN TOWNSHIPS, QUEBEC, 1877-1884
The earliest record of a water-powered mill in Canada was one at Port-Royal in 1607 which served the Acadian settlers. By the time of the British conquest, there were 150 grist mills in New France. During the early period of settlement in Canada, one grain-grinding mill was usually sufficient for the needs of one or two townships, but, by 1840, Lower Canada possessed about 400 grist mills. Windmills were uncommon and the usual source of power were water wheels. Steam engines were introduced into mills during the mid-nineteenth century.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1877-1884, 3 cm (M.G. 1008)
These records consist of a ledger, 1877-1884, of an unidentified grist mill in the Eastern Townships.
ANONYMOUS: SCIENTIFIC SUPPLIER, 1935-1947
This unidentified scientific supplier dealt in scientific publications and journals, experimental animals, laboratory equipment (including maintenance), and chemicals. It appears to have been a Montréal firm, and McGill University was amongst its customers.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1935-1947, 10 cm (M.G. 3030)
The company's records consist of a ledger, with stock inventories in the back.
ARCHIBALD, CHARLES D., fl 1851-1852
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1851-1852, 4 items (CH68.S87)
Four letters to Charles D. Archibald from Edward Allison, written from St-Jean, Lower Canada, discuss commercial matters and railway development.
ARMSTRONG-DELIGNY FAMILY, 1732-1965
In 1778, the Armstrongs, a loyalist family, settled in Yamachiche, Québec. Edward Armstrong married Elizabeth Dunn (b.1775). In 1831, one of their sons, David Morrison Armstrong (d.1873) married Leocardie, a daughter of Jacques Deligny, who was a landholder in Berthier and a member of the Lower Canadian Assembly from 1814 to 1837. David M. Armstrong was a merchant in Berthier before serving as the local member of the Legislative Assembly from 1841-1851. In 1855 he became the legislative councillor for the district of Sorel and in 1867 was named to the same position for the province of Québec.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1732-1965, 50 cm (M22070)
The bulk of the archive concerns the activities of Jacques Deligny and David Morrison Armstrong as landholders in Berthier. The former's papers contain seigneurial receipts, 1820-1850, and contracts, 1800-1839; while the latter's papers consist of rent receipts, 1854-1860, and sales contracts, 1840-1853. Also included are the papers of other family members.
ARMSTRONG, CHARLES NEWHOUSE, fl 1859-1921
By the 1880's Charles Newhouse Armstrong was a managing director of the Montreal and Sorel Railway. In 1911 he was named to the board of directors of the Ottawa River Navigation Company and the Carillon and Grenville Railway Company. He served as president of the former from 1915 to 1921 and of the latter in 1921.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1859-1921, 20 cm (M21585)
The Armstrong papers concern his business interests and consist of correspondence, legal documents, bills, maps and blueprints pertaining to the sale of property to the Central Railway, 1912-1920. There are also administrative records of the Carillon and Grenville Railway Company including letters patent of 1866 and minutes, 1859-1916, 1921; and minutes of the Ottawa River Navigation Company, 1864-1921.
François Baby, a native of Montréal, was a politician and judge. He was educated at the College of St. Sulpice and at Joliette College. Called to the bar in 1857, he practised law in Montréal and Joliette. He represented Joliette, Québec, as a Conservative in the House of Commons from 1872 to 1880. He then became a judge of the Superior Court of Québec but transfered in 1881 to the Queen's Bench and retired in 1896. Baby was one of the founders of the Historical Society of Montreal and of the Canadian National League in 1893.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1857-1887, 1 cm (CH106.S124)
These papers consist of business documents, most of which are receipts.
BAGG, ABNER AND STANLEY, 1810-1845
The Bagg family emigrated from England at the end of the 18th century. Two brothers, Stanley (1786-1853) and Abner (fl. 1820-1850) came to Montréal in the early part of the 19th century. By the 1820's both brothers were engaged in a number of business ventures including a haberdashery. Abner owned a brewery in Laprairie and was a major contractor for the Lachine Canal. Stanley was also a contractor and like his brother very involved in the wheat and flour staple trade with the United States. Stanley was associated with the formation of the City Bank in 1831 and stood as the Conservative candidate in a 1832 by-election held in Montréal.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1810-1845, 1.5 m (M22069)
The bulk of these papers are the business records of Abner and Stanley Bagg. The haberdashery is represented by account books, daily records and a daybook 1829-1831 and the Laprairie Brewery, with account books, 1821-1825, a cash book and a customers' accounts book, 1830-1831. From the Bagg's activities as contractors for the Lachine Canal can be traced by Workmens' workbooks and time sheets, 1821-1827, 1833-1834, receipts from other contractors, 1823-1827, a day book, 1822-1823, a cash book, 1822-1824, store accounts, 1821-1824, a treasurer's waste book, 1821 and an account book, 1821-1823. Other records of the Bagg's business ventures include account books, 1816-1835; day books, 1805, 1824-1829; receipt books, 1825-1827; cash books, 1824-1829, ledgers, 1811-1845; and letterbooks, 1813-1821. The personal papers of the Baggs consist of Abner Bagg's personal account book, 1815-1821 and an estate inventory, 1816; along with a personal notebook, 1839-1853 and a household expense book, 1821-1823.
BEATTY, EDWARD WENTWORTH, 1877-1943
SEE SECTION I. UNIVERSITY TEACHING AND RESEARCH
In 1934 the Percé Handicrafts Guild was formed by a group of women, many of them wealthy "summer people" from Montréal, to encourage Gaspé handicrafts both for their intrinsic value and as a means of alleviating the financial hardships of the Depression. The Guild organized lectures, competitions and exhibits and in 1936 opened a shop in Percé called "The Black Whale". Guild members manned the shop on a volunteer basis, and profits were used for community projects, such as the Dental Clinic, staffed in the summer by McGill professors Roland Lamb and Arthur Walsh. The shop was a centre for the study of Gaspé history and natural science, and sponsored a number of publications.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials, Photographs, 1934-1975, 32 cm (M.G. 1001)
Formal administrative records consist of letters patent for the Percé Handicrafts Guild, full minutes for 1939, and brief annual summaries of activities from 1933 to 1975. Legal documents comprise licence and registration papers, together with pertinent correspondence, 1938-1953, and a correspondence file relating to rental of the shop building. The financial side is illustrated by a cash book, 1934, and files of miscellaneous receipts, inventories, balance sheets and book-keeping instructions, 1935-1971. Almost half the records of the Black Whale are informal in nature; e.g. letters from Ethel Renouf to Phyllis Birks (Chairman of the Percé Handicrafts Guild) mixing personal news with accounts of shop operations and craft production, 1934-1937; files of anecdotal notes, clippings etc. on the shop and on the history of the Gaspé; notes on the flora and geology of the region; and publications sponsored by the Black Whale. Some correspondence, budget notes and flyers pertain to the work of the Dental Clinic, 1939-1940.
Blackwood was a retailer in Montréal.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1844-1851 (CH138.S8)
Cashbook, 1844-1851.
Thomas Blackwood, born in Lanarkshire, Scotland, came to Canada in 1791. He was in the service of the fur trading firm of James McGill for a number of years. Later he formed a business partnership with McGill's stepson, François Desrivières. In 1822, Blackwood became the first President of the Montreal Board of Trade.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Copies, 1806, 1 cm (CH138.S9)
This collection consists of copies of letters written by T. Blackwood from Michilimackinac to James and Andrew McGill & Co., to Ch. Chaboillez, and to T. and J. McGregor.
BLONDEAU, MAURICE-REGIS, 1734-1809
Né à Montréal, Maurice-Régis Blondeau fut un important trafiquant de fourrures du Nord-Ouest. Il s'allia à de nombreux autres marchands dont Jean-Baptiste Cadot, un trafiquant de fourrures dans la région du Michigan. Membre fondateur du Beaver Club, Blondeau fut aussi juge de paix et officier de milice à Montréal.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Original, 1777-1789, 3 cm (Unaccessioned)
Livre des comptes, 1777-1789, incluant les comptes avec Jean-Baptiste Cadot.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Microfilm, 1777-1789, 1 reel (M.G. 3047)
Microfilm of McCord Museum Accession.
Marchand, politicien et officier de la milice, Pierre Bruneau est né à Québec. Il hérita d'une entreprise de fourrure de son père et la transforma en entreprise de détail diversifiée, active dans le blé, les spiritueux et les marchandises sèches. Ses spéculations dans l'immobilier et des emprunts excessifs l'entraînèrent dans des difficultés financières. De 1810 à 1816, il représenta la Basse-ville de Québec à l'Assemblée législative.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1780-1789, 2.5 cm (New MSS)
Journal contenant diverses comptabilités, surtout des reçus de ventes.
CARILLON AND GRENVILLE RAILWAY CO., 1859-1921
See Armstrong, Charles Newhouse.
François de Champflour est issu de la branche parisienne d'une famille de l'Auvergnat. Il fût nommé gouverneur de Trois-Rivières en 1639 et démontra un excellent sens de la diplomatie en réussissant à repousser une attaque iroquoise en 1641. D'août 1642 à décembre 1643, Champflour fut commandant du Fort Richelieu jusqu'au moment où il retourna à son poste de Trois-Rivières; en 1645 il joua un rôle important dans les négociations de paix avec les Iroquois. Il rentra à Paris cette année là avec l'espoir de revenir en Nouvelle France; mais ce rêve ne se matérialisa jamais et en 1649 il vendit le fief qu'il avait reçu de la Compagnie des Cent-Associés.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1649, 7 pp (CH362.S322)
Ce document est une confirmation d'une concession de terre à Trois-Rivières faite à Champflour par la Compagnie des Cent-Associés.
CHRISTIE, ALEXANDER JAMES, d. 1843
Born in Scotland, Alexander James Christie was educated at the universities of Aberdeen (M.A.) and Edinburgh, where he studied medicine. In 1817 he came to Canada where he combined medicine with farming and journalism. Christie was editor of the Montreal Herald, 1819-1822, and of the Montreal Gazette, 1823-1824. He moved to Bytown, the site now known as Ottawa, in 1826, where in 1836 he brought out the first issue of the weekly Bytown Gazette, of which he remained owner and editor until his death. Christie was in favour of the union of Upper and Lower Canada, with Bytown as its capital, and waged an intensive campaign in support of this issue.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1819-1821, .25 cm (CH202.S180)
These papers consist of business letters, mostly concerning Christie's financial difficulties.
In 1872 James Cooper and Fred Fairman established in Montréal the hardware firm of Cooper, Fairman and Co.. James Cooper later established the Dominion Wire Manufacturing Company, the Dominion Wire Rope Company, and the James Cooper Manufacturing Company (manufacturers of mining machinery). Cooper, Fairman and Co. held controlling interest of Dominion Bridge Co., up until the time of the dissolution of Cooper, Fairman and Co., in 1889. In addition, James Cooper operated a general contractors and railway supply business. Cooper died at Montréal, July 11, 1903.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Copies, 1853-1912, 70 cm (M.G. 3086)
The papers relate to Cooper's private financial affairs, especially the settlement of his estate. They include correspondence, deeds, stock certificates and receipts pertaining to investments in mining, industrial concerns, real estate, railroads, and fishing leases.
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE, LYMAN-CORSE FAMILY
CUTHBERT-BOSTWICK FAMILY, 1716-1957
James Cuthbert (ca 1719-1798), merchant and legislative councillor, acquired several seigneuries, including Berthier, Lanoraie and Dautré, from 1765 to 1790. The latter two he acquired from the Neveu family. Upon his death the seigneuries were divided among his sons, James, Alexander and Ross. James (1769-1849) who inherited the seigneury of Berthier was a member of the Legislative Assembly from 1796 to 1811, a legislative councillor from 1811-1838 and the president of the Council in 1838. Ross (1776-1861), a lawyer and a member of the Legislative Assembly received the seigneuries of Lanoraie and Dautré. Georgianna, the eldest daughter of Ross Cuthbert, married Augustus David Bostwick in 1829 and after his death she married Edward Adams Clark in 1851. Georgianna and her sister Mary Cuthbert inherited their father's rights to the former seigneuries of Lanoraie and Dautré. Members of the Bostwick family continued to hold these rights until the 1950s.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1716-ca 1957, 4 m (M22078)
The bulk of the Cuthbert-Bostwick family papers consist of land concessions for Berthier, 1784-1795, and Lanoraie and Dautré, 1716-1832. As well, there is correspondence, receipts, quittances and deeds, 1851-1957 concerning the former seigneuries of Lanoraie and Dautré.
Other papers include the correspondence of James Cuthbert (son) from Lords Dalhousie, Aylmer and Sydenham concerning political matters, 1810-1841; and the family correspondence of Ross Cuthbert, 1804, 1817 and Georgianna Cuthbert, 1827.
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE, DAWSON-HARRINGTON FAMILY
DRUMMOND, WILLIAM MALCOLM, 1897-1965
William Malcolm Drummond was born in Bristol, Québec, in 1897. He was educated at Queen's University, the University of Toronto, the Ecole Libre des Sciences Politiques in Paris, and Harvard University. As an economist, he lectured at the University of Alberta from 1924 to 1926 and at the University of Toronto from 1929 to 1937. He then became Professor and head of the department of agricultural economics at the Ontario Agricultural College at Guelph where he stayed for fifteen years. In 1952 he resigned from this position to serve with the United Nations' economic mission in Korea. He was a Fellow of the Agricultural Institute of Canada and the co-author of two books.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Typescript, ca 1924, 5 cm (CH281.Bd266)
These papers comprise the typescript of Drummond's Financing of land purchase in Canada.
FANTONI, ANTONIO, fl 1525-1591
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1525-1591 (M172.Bd165)
This volume of receipts for various supplies received by the financial offical of the cathedral chapter of Pisa, the monastery of San Lorenzo, and by other religious houses and individuals, was begun by Captain Antonio Fantoni.
FROBISHER, CHARLOTTE, fl ca 1761-ca 1820
Charlotte Frobisher, née Jobert, was the daughter of the surgeon Jean-Baptiste Jobert and Charlotte Larchevêque the sister-in-law of Charles-Jean-Baptiste Chavoillez. She married Joseph Frobisher (1740-1810) in 1779.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1820, 58 pp (CH137.S7)
This material documents the estate of Mrs. Joseph Frobisher and includes a copy of her will and an inventory, 1820.
Born in Halifax, England, Joseph Frobisher became involved in the western fur trade with his two brothers, Benjamin and Thomas, and was on the Saskatchewan River as early as 1773. In 1779 he was one of the partners in the first North West Co. In 1787 he and Simon McTavish became senior partners in the new firm of McTavish, Frobisher and Co. of Montréal, which held a controlling interest in the North West Co. Frobisher sat in the Legislative Assembly of Lower Canada from 1792 to 1796.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals and Copy, 1787-1834, 11 cm (CH132.S2, CH141.S11, CH145.S15, CH153.S23, CH65.S84, CH136.S6, CH64.S84)
Frobisher's papers comprise a letterbook of the North-West Co. containing copies of letters written by Frobisher from April 1787 to October 1788, two original letters to Simon McTavish, 1796, and one from him, 1787, business and legal documents, largely concerning the estate of James McGill, 1810-1834, and a diary, 1806-1810, mostly a record of where he dined.
Samuel Gale published a number of essays on the principles of public credit in London between 1784 and 1789.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Copies, 1816-1817, 5 cm
These papers comprise a fair copy, for the press, of "Gale on Redeemable Annuities", 1816, as well as copies of letters to his son concerning the supplement to his "Treatise on the Nature and Principles of Redeemable Annuities", 1817. Apparently neither treatise was published.
Born in England, Benaiah Gibb (1755-1826) came to Montréal in 1774. The next year, he started B. Gibb and Co., tailors. He retired from the business in 1815 and was succeeded by his sons, Thomas and James Duncan who along with Joseph Kollymer, formed the firm of Gibbs and Kollymer, tailors. By the 1840's, another son, Benaiah Gibb (d.1877) had established himself as a tailor with the company name of B. Gibb and Co. By 1870 the firm was known as Gibb and Company, and operated as tailors and haberdashers. In the later part of the 19th century the family firm was being carried on by Alexander, Edward Munro and Lachlan Gibb, descendants of the first Benaiah Gibb's brother. Members of the Gibb family in England continued to run the family's tailoring business, B. Gibb and Sons, in London. The firm of Ware and Gibb, grocers, operated in Montréal from at least 1819 to 1824.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1820-1928, 2 m (Unaccessioned)
The business records of Gibb Co., which make up the bulk of the collection, consist of letterbooks, 1864-1915, ledger books, which document retail prices as well as costs of alterations and cleaning, 1862-1928; cutters' books, which provide details of customers' measurements, 1877-1878, 1915-1922; account books, 1868-1881, 1901-1904 including lists of accounts payable, 1868-1881; purchase journals, ca 1865-1872, 1937-1950; cash books 1901-1923; an inventory book, 1901-1914; and an order book to B. Gibb and Sons, London, England, 1890-1893. Also included are the business records of Ware and Gibb which consist of a letterbook, 1821-1826, ledger 1820-1826, cash book 1822-1826, and a waste book, 1822-1824.
James Goudie operated a grist mill in Montréal from 1843 to 1852. In 1852 he was a partner with William Watson (d.1867), Alexander Ogilvie and Alexander Walker Ogilvie in the Glenora flour mill.
McCORD MUSEUM
Original, 1843-1852, 2.5 cm (Unaccessioned)
Account book for the grist mill, 1843-1852.
GRANT, W., CAMPION AND COMPANY, 1792-1820
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, Copies, 1792-1793, 1799-1800, 1820 (Ch369.S329, CH368.S328, CH391 Box R.B.R.)
This business correspondence includes letters to Grant, Campion & Co. from Brickwood, Pattle, & Co., 1792-1793, from Brickwood & Daniell, John Blackwood, and McTavish, Fraser and Co., 1799-1800, and from Inglish Ellice & Co. to Sir Alex. Mackenzie & Co., 1820.
The firm of Greenshields, Ltd., was founded in 1833 by Samuel Greenshields and his son John. By 1900 it was the main drygoods wholesaler in Montréal. At the height of its prosperity, it was presided over by Edward Black Greenshields, John's son. E.B. Greenshields was also a director of the Bank of Montreal, the Grand Trunk Railway, and the Standard Life Assurance Company, and was co-founder of the Royal Trust. The firm merged in 1934 with Hodgson Sumner and Co., and operates today as Greenshields Hodgson and Racine.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1845-1937, 14 cm (Unaccessioned)
The firm's financial records consist of a day book, 1845-1849, purchase vouchers and notes, 1836-1850, correspondence relating to the field accounts of 1872, a printed order book listing goods available in various departments (n.d.) and notebooks itemizing goods supplied (n.d.). See also Section XII. Family and Private Life, Greenshields Family.
HADFIELD, JOSEPH, fl 1785-1810
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1785-1810, 36 pp (CH134.S4, CH135.S5)
This consists of Joseph Hadfield's "Observations upon the Commerce of Canada", especially the fur trade, 1785 and a description of Niagara Falls in 1785 but written after 1810.
SEE SECTION VII. POLITICS AND GOVERNMENT
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1828-1829, 27 pp (CH17.S53)
This diary was written at York Factory, Hudson Bay, 1828-1829.
Born in Europe, Aaron Hart (ca 1724-1800) emigrated to America and in 1760 followed the British army into Canada. A merchant who furnished supplies to the commissariat of the British army, Hart settled in Trois-Rivières where he engaged in various business activities including the fur trade. He also acquired large tracts of land including the seigneuries of Sainte-Marguerite and Becancour. In 1768 he married Dorothy Judah; they had four sons, Moses, Ezekiel, Benjamin and Alexander, and four daughters. Ezekiel (d.1843), like his father, was a merchant in Trois Rivières. In 1807 he was elected as the representative for Trois Rivières in the Legislative Assembly of Lower Canada but could not sit as a member because he could not take the customary oath "on the true faith of a Christian". In 1808 he was re-elected but again was unable to sit for the same reasons. Although nominated in 1809, he withdrew his candidature during the electoral campaign. His son, Adolphus M. Hart (1814-1879) became a prominent lawyer in Montréal.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1760-1843, 10 cm (M21359)
The bulk of the Hart family papers consists of the personal and business papers of Aaron Hart and his son, Ezekiel Hart. Aaron Hart papers contain his membership certificate in a Masonic lodge, 1760 and his account book, 1774-1784. Ezekiel Hart papers comprise correspondence from family members concerning family news and business activities, 1789-1801; a business agreement among the four Hart brothers concerning the division of their father's property, 1803; land surveys by Modeste Pratte, 1809-1823; and a letter from Ezekiel Hart to James Phillips and Sons discussing the opposition to his sitting in the Legislative Assembly, 1808. There are also some papers of other family members, including two letters of Adolphus M. Hart with family members concerning personal and legal affairs, 1839, 1843.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials and Photographs, ca 1820-1972, 10 cm (M.G. 2018)
Selected papers of the Hart Family include a diary kept by Bernard Samuel Judah (an in-law of the Harts) during a voyage to the United States to visit his son Samuel, 1827-1828; a Jewish calendar belonging to Alan Judah Hart with notices of family births and deaths, 1903-1930, and few diary entries, 1917-1919; a few items of correspondence of Alan Hart and his family relating to family history, 1923-1972; some notes on family history, and 25 portraits (photographs, silhouettes) of family members from 1823 to ca 1960.
HENRY MORGAN AND CO., 1846-1960
In 1845, Henry Morgan opened a dry-goods retail operation on Notre Dame Street, Montréal, in partnership with David Smith. In 1851, Smith left for Chicago and Henry's brother, James, arrived from Glasgow to join the firm. Morgan's moved in 1866 to St. James Street and by 1874 employed some 200 clerks. In 1891 the store was moved uptown to St. Catherine Street and had become, by this time, the largest retail establishment in Canada. The firm remained a family business for more than a century. Branches were opened in Ottawa, Toronto, and Hamilton, and in various shopping centres near Toronto and Montréal, during the 1950s. In 1960 Morgan's was purchased by the Hudson's Bay Company.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials, and Photographs, 1846-1960, 1.92 m (M.G. 1002)
The company's records contain administrative, financial and publicity material. The administrative series comprises the minutes of the directors from 1929 to 1955 and of the executive committee from 1949 to 1956. An engagement book records contracts between the company and its employees, 1902-1906. Henry Morgan's business correspondence covers the period 1847-1850, and includes a few personal letters to his brother James. Financial records cover both internal operations and stock transactions. The former are documented by an account book, 1845-1848; ledgers, 1870-1889; and diaries, 1884, 1936; the latter by lists of stock holders, 1954-1960; and records of transfers of Morgan's common stock, 1954-1961. Also included are files of invoices, receipts and cheques, 1846-1852. Publicity materials largely centre around anniversaries. Scrapbooks of newspaper clippings, other printed materials and photographs cover the years 1936-1945, culminating in the company's centennial, for which a typescript history was prepared.
In 1889, Dr. James Thomas Donald, the first science master at the Montreal High School and later Professor of chemistry in the Medical Faculty of Bishop's College, opened a commercial laboratory and chemical consulting firm on St. James Street. Donald later became one of Canada's first chemical analysts. During World War I, the firm acted as consulting chemists to the Ministry of Munitions in Canada. In 1920, the business was incorporated as J.T. Donald & Co. Limited. Donald Inspection Limited, a subsidiary company, was formed in 1926. J.T. Donald's son, James Richardson Donald, joined the firm in 1922, and subsequently became President. During World War II, the company was actively connected with various chemical phases of the war effort, when J.R. Donald served as Director General of the Chemical and Explosives Production Branch of the Department of Munitions and Supply. The company, known today as J.T. Donald Consultants Ltd., now has its headquarters in Toronto.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Printed Materials, 2.9 m (M.G. 1003)
The project files which occupy most of the archives of J.T. Donald and Co. fall into two series: ordinary business and special assignments. Both series contain the firms report's, and correspondence. Special assignments were largely connected with wartime armaments production. A few files concern work for the Imperial Munitions Board in World War I, but most consist of reports for the Chemical and Explosives Branch of the Department of Munitions and Supply, 1939-1948. Ordinary projects involve consultation for food, pulp and paper, petroleum, and chemical manufacturies, as well as for some government departments, 1888-1940. Outgoing correspondence from 1881 to 1909 is contained in letterbooks. A file of legal documents, 1924-1946, refer to claims against the company, agreements, and partnerships. Also included are an undated notebook on chemical analysis, and scrapbooks and files of newsclippings of professional interest (e.g. reports of explosions caused by oil and gas) covering the period 1916-1958. There are also reports on mining and energy sources prepared by Donald alone and also in partnership with J.H. Ross for various private and government bodies.
JAQUAYS, HOMER M., ca 1875-1953
SEE SECTION I. UNIVERSITY TEACHING AND RESEARCH
KOLLYMER, ANDREW, fl 1790-1818
Andrew Kollymer served as a constable (1794-1797) and bailiff (1797-1812) in Montréal. He was also appointed to other government positions including those of poll clerk in 1804 and public crier in 1807. In addition to those posts, Kollymer was engaged in private business as an auctioneer from 1798 to 1815.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1790-1818, 9 cm (M22085)
The bulk of Kollymer's papers is made up of legal documents and lists which concern his activities as a constable, bailiff and auctioneer in Montréal and consist of warrants and court orders, 1797-1809, legal depositions concerning attacks made upon him, 1795-1799, and lists of goods sold at public auction, 1798-1815. Also included are official notices for his appointment to government positions, 1804, 1807 and one family letter, 1802.
Stonemason William Lauder was born in Scotland and came to Canada with his brother to work on military engineering projects, notably the Rideau Canal. He later settled in Montréal and worked on several projects, including the Arts Building of McGill College and the Chambly Canal.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Photocopies, 1834-1841, 1 cm (M.G. 1005)
This archive consists of photocopies of the portion of the ledger of William Lauder, concerning the Arts Building project, 1838-1841. An index to the entire ledger is included.
LEMON, GEORGE WILLIAM, fl 1788-1831
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1788-1831, 22 cm (M274.Bd285, M273, Bd284)
This collection consists of Lemon's accounts as agent to the Royal Exchange Assurance Office, 1804-1831. Also included are miscellanies of verse, 1788-1789 and a translation of the works of Virgil.
The Lyman Pharmaceutical Company was established by George Wadsworth and Lewis Lyman in Montréal. In 1805 it was known as Lewis & Lyman. Later changes in title were Hedge & Lyman (1819); William Lyman & Co. (1836); Lymans, Savage & Co. (1855); Lymans Clare & Co. (1860); and Lyman, Sons & Co. (1879). In 1908 the name Lymans Ltd. was adopted and a joint-stock company was organized which replaced the earlier partnership associations. At one time it was the largest wholesale drug firm in Canada (as well as the oldest) and the third largest in North America. The company continued until 1951.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1822-1898, 3.06 m (M.G. 1006)
The greater portion of these records consists of journals, cash books and ledgers recording purchases and sales, 1822-1898. Also included are formula and prescription books, catalogues, price lists, company releases, 1948 and 1952, and a genealogy of the Lyman Family in Canada.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1820-1889, 13 cm (Large MSS, CH353.S313)
The firm's records comprise receipts, 1820-1824; business documents, largely insurance policies, of William Lyman and Co. 1835-1856; statements belonging to the Lyman Real Estate Corporation concerning the building of Zion Church, 1851-1854; and rental and account books of Lyman, Sons and Co., 1884-1889.
For private papers of the Lymans, see SECTION XII, FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE, Lyman-Corse Family.
McDONALD, JOHN, OF GARTH, 1774?-1860
Born in Scotland, John McDonald of Garth entered the service of the North West Co. in 1791. In 1799 he built Rocky Mountain House on the North Saskatchewan River. In 1800 he became a partner in the company. McDonald established Fort Gibraltar at the junction of the Red and Assiniboine Rivers in 1807. Later, in 1811, he moved to the Columbia district where in 1813 he took over Fort Astoria from Astor's Pacific Fur Co. McDonald retired in 1815 and settled in Glengarry, Upper Canada.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1791-1865, 11.5 cm (CH3.S39, CH232.S210, CH211.S189)
McDonald's correspondence, 1791-1860, mostly concerns business and property matters, but also includes personal correspondence. There are two volumes of autobiographical notes assembled in 1859
and covering the period 1791-1816, and statements of account with
McTavish, Frobisher & Co., 1799; with McTavish, Fraser & Co., 1803-1804; with McTavish, McGillivray & Co., 1808-1809.
James McGill was born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1744, and entered Glasgow University in 1756 but did not receive a degree. He later emigrated to the American colonies and the first known North American reference to McGill dates from 1766. In about 1774 he made his headquarters in Montréal and, in partnership with Isaac Todd, he played a leading role in the fur trade for many years. For a time he was also associated with his brothers, Andrew and John. McGill was never a member of the North West Co., although he was a charter member of the Beaver Club of Montréal. From 1792 to 1796 and from 1800 to 1804 he represented a Montréal constituency in the Lower Canada Legislature, and in 1793 he was appointed to the Executive Council. In 1776 McGill married the widow of a former colleague, Amable Desrivières. In 1813 he bequeathed a large part of his estate to the Royal Institution for the Advancement of Learning in order to found and endow a college bearing his name. After delays and litigation by heirs, McGill College was inaugurated in 1829.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Copies, 1797-1814, 8 cm (M.G. 1007)
McGill's papers are of both a personal and a business nature. Personal materials consist of almanacs, 1801, 1802, 1812, containing short, dry diary notes; a power of attorney from McGill to Duncan Cameron, 1809; photocopies of two letters to his business associates John Askin and Isaac Todd, 1812; and copies of his will, 1813. His business interests are represented by the journal of the firm of James and Andrew McGill, 1797-1814. Four documents concerning McGill's property and its boundaries, 1798, 1803 are contained in McGill University Administrative Records, Record Group 4, c.437-c.438.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, Copies, and Blueprint, 1792-1828, 1924, 5 cm (CH196.S174, CH168.S150, CH142.S12, CH155.S25, CH154.S24, CH143.S13, CH161.S31)
These McGill papers are entirely concerned with his property and estate. They comprise legal documents and copies of letters (some in McGill's hand) concerning his land holdings on St. Paul St., Montréal, in Stanbridge, and in Detroit. McGill's cash book, 1809-1815, and copy by W.D. Lighthall of a deed of conveyance to McGill of some land formerly occupied by the city fortifications, 1805, are also included, as is a blue-print and sketch by W.D. Lighthall of the site of McGill's St. Paul St. house. Estate papers comprise a probate of McGill's will, copied by Alice Lighthall, and his executor's cash book.
Born in Scotland, Simon McGillivray was a partner in several prominent fur trading firms based in Montréal and London.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1826, 1 cm (CH152.S22, CH354.S314)
This includes a letter to creditors and legal opinions on the deed of assignment on the estate of William McGillivray.
McGILLIVRAYS THAIN AND COMPANY, 1822-1825
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1825-1826, 4 pp (New MSS)
Letters from John Franklin, the Arctic explorer.
McTAVISH, FROBISHER & CO., 1787, McTAVISH, McGILLIVRAYS & CO., 1806-1825
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 3 cm (CH146.S16, CH149.S19, CH151.S21)
These are various business papers of Simon McTavish and include partnership agreements with William and Duncan McGillivray, William Hallowell, Roderick McKenzie, Angus Shaw and James Hallowell, 1806 and drafts of agreement for seven years between McTavish, Frobisher and Company and John Fraser of London, Simon McGillivray and John Tullon, 1805. FOR SIMON McTAVISH SEE SECTION XII, FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE.
John Millen & Co. was a Montréal firm of wholesale automotive and
industrial supplies established in 1869.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Printed Materials, ca 1930-1965, 1.2m (M.G. 1004)
The administrative records constitute the bulk of the collection; they include annual reports, and financial statements of John Millen & Co. and related firms, 1962-1972; quarter-monthly reports, 1956-1969; memoranda, 1961-1969; files concerning clients, products, sales, and inventory, 1960-1969; executive meetings, 1960; staff lists, 1955-1970; budgets, 1965; files on Exide & Oil Co. Sales, 1964-1968; file on Modern Sales Ltd., 1943-1970 and business correspondence, 1943-1972. Legal records consist of leases, 1963-1964; employee contract between S.B. Millen and John Millen & Son Ltd., 1968; correspondence, memoranda, and court cases, ca 1930-1936. Also included are reports and typescripts on the principles of management and sales, 1948, 1960-1969, as well as some newspaper clippings.
A native of Montréal, Stephen Boyd Millen obtained his B.A. and B.C.L. from McGill University, He was called to the Bar of Québec in 1930 and practised with Meredith, Holden, Heward, and Holden from 1930 to 1934. In 1934 he commenced with John Millen and Co., eventually becoming its President and chairman of the Board. Millen served as Governor of McGill University from 1955 to 1958. He also served in a number of other capacities at McGill, including Chairman of the Alma Mater Fund, President of the Montréal Branch of the McGill Graduates' Society, and Chairman of the Athletics Board.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Printed Materials, 1930-1972, 25 cm (M.G. 3023)
Millen's papers fall into three series: records from his legal career, records from his business career, and files concerning McGill.
Documenting his career as a lawyer are 8 cm of correspondence regarding lawsuits and court cases, interspersed with some personal matters, e.g. the affairs of the Graduates' Society (1930-1934). Appointment diaries cover the years 1931-1933. The bulk of this archive is a group of business files (1949-1970), containing accounting reports and financial statements for John Millen and Co., some miscellaneous correspondence, and clippings concerning business and politics. Millen's work for the Graduates' Society and as a McGill governor is the subject of files of correspondence, memoranda, minutes and printed material, largely on fund raising and athletics (1930-1972). See also JOHN MILLEN & CO., SECTION V. BUSINESS AND ECONOMY
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE
Wiliam Molson was born in Montréal. Because of a disagreement with his brother, Thomas, concerning their joint distilling enterprise, Molson withdrew from the family firm to establish Molson's Bank with his brother John. Founded in 1854 and chartered by the provincial legislature in 1855, the Molson's Bank was absorbed by the Bank of Montréal in 1925. The President of his bank until his death Molson was also a vice-president of the Montreal and Champlin Railroad, a local director of the Grand Trunk Railway and a governor of the Montreal General Hospital. In 1868 he became the president of the hospital. He was a generous benefactor of McGill, where William Molson Hall was named in his honour.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1821-1838, 1.5 cm (CH16.S52, CH330.S290)
A diary and notebook were kept by Molson in Montréal, 1821-1822, and in London, 1823-1824. Also included are articles of partnership between William Molson and Thomas Molson, 1838.
MONK, GEORGE HENRY, fl 1824-1827
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1824-1827, 1 cm (CH205.S183)
This account book was kept with La Chendaie Seigneury.
MONTREAL AND NEW YORK RAILROAD COMPANY, 1845-1855
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1854-1855, 15 pp (CH110.S130)
Financial statements and correspondence.
MONTREAL BOARD OF TRADE, 1822-1952
In 1822 a group of Montréal businessmen, perturbed by the effects of the depression which followed the end of the Napoleonic wars, formed a "committee of Trade" with a mandate "to watch over the general interests of the trade of the country". The Committee was incorporated as the Montreal Board of Trade in 1842. During its first century, the Board's role was primarily that of lobbyist, particularly with regard to improving navigation to Montréal and constructing port facilities. They have been closely involved in municipal administrative reform, public health campaigns, anti-pollution and slum-clearance drives. Since the 1920's, the character of the Board has gradually altered to that of an information clearing-house and education facility.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Microfilm of Originals in Public Archives of Canada, 1822-1952, 28 reels (M.G. 1009)
The records of the Board of Trade fall into two series. Administrative records comprise the register of the Committee of Trade, 1822-1842; followed by the minutes of the Board, 1842-1952; reports of general meetings, 1842-1951; and annual meetings, 1876-1879; and council annual reports, 1886-1931. Correspondence consists of letterbooks, 1870-1920, and the correspondence files of the Committee of Trade, 1822-1842. A review of the activities of the Board from 1950 is also included.
MONTREAL RAILROAD CAR COMPANY, 1854-1859
SEE SECTION IX. PROFESSIONS AND TRADES, FREDERICK GRIFFIN
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1854-1859, 1 cm (CH376.S336)
These documents concern the establishment of the Montreal Railroad Car Company. They were extracted from the papers of Frederick Griffin.
MONTREAL EXCHANGE/LA BOURSE DE MONTREAL, 1867-
The beginnings of the Montreal Exchange/La Bourse de Montréal can be traced to private stock trading between merchants at the Exchange Coffee House as early as 1832. In 1842 the Board of Stock and Produce Brokers was established to promote the sale of stock and produce in a more regular and systematic manner. By 1862 the Board was split into two parts; the Corn Exchange, which specialized in produce and the Board of Stock Brokers. In 1872 the Board of Brokers changed its name to the Montreal Stock Exchange and two years later received a provincial charter. The Montreal Curb Market, founded in 1926, became the Canadian Stock Exchange in 1953, and merged with the Montreal Stock Exchange in 1974. In 1982 the Montreal Stock Exchange changed its name to the Montreal Exchange.
The Montreal Exchange and the Montreal Curb Market/Canadian Stock Exchange were organized along similar lines. Each had a chief governing body elected annually from among its members. For the Montreal Exchange, this body was and still is called the Governing Committee while its equivalent for the Montreal Curb Market/Canadian Stock Exchange was named the Board of Management. These bodies consisted of several governors, a chairman, vice-chairman and secretary treasurer. Initially they performed most of the executive and management function of their respective organizations. They appointed sub-committees from the membership of the exchange which were responsible for the major function of the exchanges. For example, each exchange had committees responsible for listings, member relations, regulation of floor transactions and the administration of their buildings.
In 1883 the first salaried employee, an Assistant Secretary was hired by the Montreal Stock Exchange to help keep the Exchange's records. In the 1920's the increased trading activity on the exchange had led to the hiring of managers and other employees to handle the mounting paper burden. By 1938 the Governing Committee had appointed a senior paid official, with the title of General Manager, and given him general executive powers over the affairs of the exchange. By 1945 the general manager was responsible for the administration of all the departments of both the Montreal and Canadian Stock Exchanges. He was aided by a manager responsible for the Canadian Stock Exchange and other managers or supervisors responsible for the individual departments of the exchanges. In 1956 in order to bestow greater executive powers on the chief official of the exchanges the position of President was created. The President became the chief executive officer of the Exchanges and responsible for the planning and direction of the exchange's activities. Since 1956 Vice-Presidents and Executive Vice-Presidents have been appointed to assume responsibility for the internal operations and administration of the exchange. The pre-1956 managers or supervisors have been replaced by Directors who like their predecessors are responsible for the departments of the exchange.
At various times in its history the Montreal Stock Exchange has organized subsidiary companies. Some like the Exchange Clearing House Company, the Exchange Printing Company and the Espirit Ltd., (another printing company) were an outgrowth of the exchange's internal operations. Since transactions on the exchange involved the buying and selling of shares between member firms, a clearing house was established to regulate and tabulate the results of these sales. The printing companies reflect the need to publish the results of transactions for potential investors. Other subsidiary companies reflect the stock exchanges' response to investors demand for services which were not normally provided by the exchange, for example the Canadian Commodity Exchange Inc.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1867-1978, 80 m (M.G. 1010)
This archive contains administrative and financial records of the Montreal Stock Exchange/Montreal Exchange and its subsidiary companies, and of the Montreal Curb Market/Canadian Stock Exchange.
I. Montreal Exchange/La Bourse de Montréal, 1867-1978
The records of the governing bodies comprise correspondence with legal advisors, 1895-1933, case files on membership applications, 1922-1973, and the minutes of the subcommittees on Building, 1902-1904, Unlisted Bonds, 1923-1925, and Unlisted Stocks, 1921-1922. The Building subcommittee's letterbook for 1903-1904 also survives. Administrative records include the general correspondence of the President, 1956-1959, subject files of the Executive Vice-President, 1926-1965, and Vice-President of Development, 1975-1976. Files of the General Manager include correspondence with auditors, 1942-1953, and correspondence concerning listed and member firms, ca 1930-1950. Responsibility for these two latter areas later fell on the Directors of Listings and of Member Relations, whose case files and general correspondence, including files inherited from the General Manager, cover the period 1902-1975 and 1920-1975 respectively. A small amount of general correspondence stems from the Director of Development's office, 1974-1975. Trading transactions from 1867-1975 are listed according to companies involved (daily stock ledgers, weekly sheets and trading summaries and monthly review) and also by volume of activity (daily sales volume and value of transactions, monthly industrial volume, combined volume and value of transactions). Accounting records comprise general and special journals, 1919-1968, and ledgers, ca 1902-1968, as well as trial balance books for 1941-1947.
2. Subsidiary Companies, 1927-1968
Minutes of the 1938 annual meeting of the Montreal Bond Exchange survive, but most of this series consists of accounting records for office operations of the following companies: Canadian Commodity Exchange Inc. (journals, 1935-1964, and ledgers, 1937-1964); Espirit Ltd. (journals, 1930-1937); Exchange Clearing House Co. (journals, 1929-1968, and trial balance book, 1961-1967); and Exchange Printing House Co. (journals; 1927-1968, ledgers 1927-1958, and trial balance books, 1963-1967).
3. Montreal Curb Market/Canadian Stock Exchange, 1926-1973
Minutes of the Board of Management cover 1927-1935. Administrative records include the President's general correspondence from 1956-1959. Most of the administrative records of these exchanges were interfiled with Montreal Stock Exchange/Montreal Exchange material. All records produced after 1956 were from offices responsible for like activities of both exchanges. The trading transactions series follows the same pattern as that for the Montreal Exchange, likewise organized by companies, 1926-1972, and by volume of activity, 1933-1962. Accounting records comprise journals, 1933-1967, ledgers, 1927-1958, and trial balance books, 1927-1949, 1951-1954.
Captain Richard Oatey left Redruth, Cornwall, England, in 1841 with his wife and four children. In 1842 he purchased land on the northeastern corner of Ste-Catherine and Beaudry streets, in Montréal and built a store in 1844. Oatey was appointed Mine Superintendent for Chaudiere River Gold Mining Company, Beauce, Québec, and Bruce Copper Mines, Lake Huron district.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1827-1853, .5 cm (CH107.S125)
These documents concern Oatey's properties and his mining work in Beauce.
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE
PAYNE, A. AND COMPANY, fl 1920s
A. Payne and Company designed and built houses in Montréal West.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Printed Materials, ca 1920s, 1 item (M.G. 3069)
The company records consist of a scrapbook containing clippings of newspaper articles, advertisements and photographs of houses built by A. Payne and Company.
George Pozer, or Jean Georges Pfotzer, was born in Germany in 1752. In 1773 he immigrated to England and later went to New York where he became a merchant. A loyalist, he left the United States after the Revolutionary War to return to England. In 1785 he came to Canada and settled in Québec City. He made his fortune as a supplier for the British army. He acquired extensive landholdings including the seigneuries of Aubert-Gallion in St-Georges de Beauce, and St-Etienne in Dorchester County. He was also an important landlord in Québec City, where he owned houses and hotels. He married Magdalene Sneider in 1776; they had seven children. At his death in 1848, however, he left most of his fortune to his daughter, Hannah and her son, George Alford, a lawyer. The rest of the family contested the will and several years elapsed before the legal wranglings were finally settled. By 1852, one of George Pozer's sons, William Pozer (1787-1861) had his legal rights to the seigneury of Aubert-Gallion confirmed. William Pozer, who had settled on the seigneury in 1830, had married Ann Millbourn (b.1811) in 1831. After his death, his estate became the property of his nine children. His eldest son, William Milbourn Pozer (1834-1890) became the seigneur of Aubert-Gallion. Another son Christian Henry Pozer became the liberal representative for Beauce in both the Quebec Provincial Assembly and the Federal House of Commons. He was appointed to the Senate in 1876. One of William Pozer's daughters, Edith Henrietta (b.1865) married Robert G. Ross (d.1924) a surveyor. Ross' father, Andrew (b.1805) was also a surveyor. Another daughter of William Pozer, Mary G. (1861-1921) married Georges Thomson in 1886. George Trafalgar Pozer (1805-1848), the son of Jacob Pozer (1777-1822) was educated at the Classical and Mathematical School of Quebec and later managed the seigneury of St-Etienne for his grandfather, George Pozer.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1780-1962, 4 m (M21968)
The bulk of the Pozer family papers consists of the business papers of George Pozer and George Alford. George Pozer's papers document his business activities through leases, 1830-1848; accounts, 1820-1848; bills of exchange, 1799; rent receipts, 1787-1799, 1817-1847; account book for rental income 1808-1822; receipt book, 1823-1847; disbursements book, 1807-1811; and correspondence, 1805-1848. It also includes personal correspondence, 1805-1848. George Alford's financial affairs are reflected by leases, 1850-1880; accounts, 1846-1898; insurance policies on business properties, 1850-1870; legal papers, concerning real estate and land purchases, 1840-1870; and an account book, 1859-1861. His personal affairs are represented by family correspondence, 1845-1862; family insurance policies, 1850-1870; and notebooks, 1850-1860.
The rest of the records consists of personal, professional and business papers of several Pozer and Ross family members. William Pozer's business life is documented by accounts, 1840-1861, and his private life through family correspondence, 1840-1861. The student life of George Trafalgar Pozer is represented by a report book for the Classical and Mathematical School of Quebec, 1818-1819. The private life of Mary G. Pozer is reflected by correspondence from family and friends, 1879-1911. Other Pozer family papers include financial records such as account books, 1811-1812, 1840-1862, receipts, 1800-1910; yearly rents for farmland, 1857-1863; legal documents concerning George Pozer's will and related court cases, 1852, n.d.; and personal records such as household receipts, 1818-1844; family correspondence, 1800-1900; a diary, n.d. and a meteorological journal, 1877-1886. Ross family papers include a surveyor's notebook, ca 1860s, and legal documents concerning their estates, 1853-1874.
Born in London, England, Edward Rawlings (1839-1911) came to Montréal in 1863 to establish a branch office of the European Life and Guarantee Company. When the parent company failed in 1868, Rawlings worked in conjunction with Hugh Allan's Citizen Insurance Company of North America. In 1872 Rawlings and Alexander Tilloch Galt founded a fidelity insurance business, the Canada Guarantee Company. In 1881 the name of the entity was changed to the Guarantee Company of North America and Rawlings served as its president from 1892 to 1911. In 1865 he married Lucretia Carter (d. ca 1917) and they had at least one child, Henry Edward Rawlings (1875-ca 1940) who became the president of the company in 1917.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, Photographs, 1867-1953, 96 cm (Unaccessioned)
The bulk of the family papers are those of Edward Rawlings and consist of a private investment ledger, 1889-1910; income/expenses ledger including his estate, 1889-1913; and 1940; and family photographs, 1899-1904. Also included is correspondence and a ledger concerning his estate, 1912-1944. The remainder of the family papers consist of estate papers including wills, correspondence and insurance policies, of Lucretia Carter Rawlings, 1917-1919, and Henry Edward Rawlings, 1940-1953.
Born in Scotland, John Redpath came to Canada in 1816. By the 1820s he was a prominent building contractor in Montréal and involved in such projects as the Lachine Canal, Notre Dame Church and the Rideau Canal. Later, in the 1850s, he built and ran the first sugar refinery in the Province of Canada. He also served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Bank of Montreal from 1833 to 1869. He was a director of such charitable institutions as the Montreal General Hospital and was one of the founders of the Protestant House of Industry and Refuge.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1820-1854, 55 cm (Unaccessioned)
The John Redpath papers consist of business records and private papers dealing with his domestic life. Redpath's contracting business is reflected by the following series of financial records: account books and ledgers which detail the expenses for the building of the private residences of a few prominent Montrealers, the Montreal General Hospital, the Notre Dame Church and the Rideau Canal, 1820-1854; cheque stubs, 1828-1840; receipt books which provide details on the costs of construction materials and labour for various projects, mainly for the Rideau Canal, 1828-1832; records of labourer's wages for the Rideau Canal, 1828-1832; workers' provisions account book, 1830; correspondence from employees and businessmen concerning supplies and contracts, Rideau Canal, 1827-1832; financial statements, Rideau Canal, 1831-1832. His investment transactions, involving real estate, stocks and money lending are documented by account books, 1832-1854. Redpath's private records consist of a cash account book, 1827-1829; records of household expenses, 1821-1830, 1847-1853; and servants wages, 1849-1854.
RHODES AND TUDOR HART FAMILY, 1774-1975
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE
ROBERTSON, WILLIAM W., fl 1867-1880
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1867-1880, 2.5 cm (CH109.S127-8-9)
Robertson was a lawyer and his business papers include statements on legal expenses relating to the Lachine, Granville and Carillon canals, 1867-1880 and receipts.
ROUVILLE, SEIGNEURIE DE, 1680-1896
Joseph-Francois Hertel de La Fresnière (1642-1722), militaire de carrière, hérita de la Seigneurie de Chambly, près de Trois Rivières, Québec, à la suite de son mariage avec Marguerite de Thavenet. Jusqu'en 1830, la seigneurie fut la propriété de ses descendants. En 1694, son fils, Jean-Baptiste Hertel de Rouville (1688-1722) reçu en cadeau du Gouverneur Buade de Frontenac la seigneurie de Rouville près de la seigneurie de Chambly. Jean-Baptiste François Hertel de Rouville (1709-1773) et René-Ovide Hertel de Rouville (1720-1793, fils de J.B. Hertel), furent à leur tour seigneurs de Rouville. Le fils de René-Ovide, Jean-Baptiste Melchior Hertel de Rouville (1748-1817) ainsi que le fils de ce dernier, Jean Baptiste René Hertel de Rouville (décédé en 1859), furent aussi successivement seigneurs de Rouville. En 1844, Thomas Edmund Campbell (1811-1872) acheta la seigneurie. Son fils, Edmund H.C. Campbell hérita de la seigneurie qui fût vendue par la suite en 1892 par les curateurs des biens de Mabel G. Campbell, fille de Sir Hugh Allan.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originaux, Copies, 1680-1896, 30 cm (M22089)
Les archives de la seigneurie de Rouville sont surtout constituées d'actes notariés. Elles comprennent les documents relatifs à la vente et la concession de terres, 1711, 1744, 1787, 1797-1806, 1821-1822, des papiers terriers, 1822-1830, des procès d'arpentage, 1822-1842, et une copie du brevet de confirmation de la seigneurie en 1694. Les archives commerciales comprennent les actes notariés relatifs à la construction et la gestion des moulins, 1740-1767, et des livres de comptes pour les moulins, 1848-1860, 1880-1896.
Les archives renferment aussi une photocopie d'un carnet ayant appartenu à J.B. Hertel de Rouville, comprenant des relevés de comptes, des poèmes et pensées de ce dernier, 1849-1858 et quelques actes notariés, 1761, et des listes des habitants 1773, (s.d.), de la Seigneurie de Chambly.
SAINT FRANCOIS DU LAC, SEIGNEURIE DE, 1932-1940
La Seigneurie de Lac St-François, située à 96 km au nord est de Montréal, était la Seigneurie de François de Lauzon, fils de Jean de Lauzon, gouverneur de la Nouvelle France de 1651 à 1656.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Orignaux, 1932-1940, 22 cm (Large MSS)
Ce fonds comprend des livres de rentes, des cadastres et plans pour les seigneuries de St-François du Lac et La Lussaudière.
SAINT LAURENT, BAS-CANADA, 1697-1810
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originaux, 1697-1810, 1cm (CH360.S320)
Documents concernant la concession de lots pour l'église et le curé de Saint-Laurent, 1697, ainsi que d'autres papiers légaux concernant des transferts de propriétés par les familles Marcoux, Auclair et Leboeuf.
SAINT LAWRENCE HALL HOTEL, 1858-1902
The Saint Lawrence Hall Hotel, located at 13 Great Saint James St. in Montréal, was opened in 1851. The owner was Henry Hogan (d.1902) who was involved in other business enterprises including the Royal Albert Bridge Co. In 1855 Hogan became a lieutenant in the Montreal Field Battery and later served as the militia unit's colonel. As one of the leading hotels of Montréal, the St. Lawrence Hall had many prominent guests, including the Prince of Wales (in 1861), Charles Dickens, John A. Macdonald and George Brown. During the 1850s the hotel served as the headquarters for Grand Trunk Railway contractors and for many years was the social centre for the Montreal Hunt Club.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1858-1902, 1.2 m (M17502)
The records consist of 21 bound volumes of guest registers, 1858-1859, 1863-1864 and 1886-1902.
SAINT LAWRENCE STEAMBOAT CO., 1803-1863
The purchase in 1809 by the Hon. John Molson of the steamboat, Accommodation, was the beginning of steam navigation on the St.Lawrence. By 1818 the St. Lawrence Steamboat Co., or the Molson Line, as it was popularly known, possessed seven ships in its fleet. The first serious opposition to the Molson Line came from John Torance & Co. of Montréal which, in 1826, started running a steamboat between Québec and Montréal. Steam navigation on the St. Lawrence made rapid strides in the third decade of the 19th century. Molson tried in vain to secure from the government a monopoly of the steamboat business on the St. Lawrence. In 1845 the Richelieu Steamboat Co. was formed and there was intense competition amongst the various steamship businesses for the lucrative St. Lawrence River market. However, this rivalry finally gave way and the bulk of the business fell to the Richelieu Steamboat Co. In 1911 the St. Lawrence Steamboat Co. was one of the companies taken over by Richelieu and Ontario Navigation Co.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1803-1863, 3.6 m (Large MSS Molson)
This material consists of business documents and correspondence reflecting the activities of the St. Lawrence Steamboat Co., mostly for the pre-1840 period, although there are documents dating to 1863. It includes account books, 1803-1818, 1844, 1851; wage books, 1826-1832-1835; bills of lading, 1812-1813; passage books, 1822-1838; freight books, 1819-1833; and letterbooks, 1827-1829, 1843-1863.
SHAWINIGAN CHEMICALS LTD, 1893-1947
Shawinigan Chemicals Ltd. was formed in 1927 through the amalgamation of the Canada Carbide Co. (founded 1911) and the Canadian Electro Products (founded 1916). The fortunes of the parent companies had been made in the manufacture of explosives during the First World War. Both they and Shawinigan Chemicals operated extensive research laboratories which were responsible for fundamental technical advances, for instance in the dry generation of acetylene gas and in the cheap production of acetone and acetic anhydride. In 1969 the company merged with British American Oil and Royalite Oil to form Gulf Oil of Canada.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1893-1947, 11 cm (M.G. 4033)
These papers comprise patents for chemical-industrial processes developed by researchers employed by Shawinigan Chemicals, Canada Carbide, and Canadian Electro Products, or transferred to the company from previous holders.
Pierre du Saurel (1628-1682), a captain of the Carignan Salières regiment, was granted the seigneury of Sorel in 1672. In 1713 it was purchased at an auction by Claude de Ramezay (1659-1724), governor of Trois Rivières and Montréal. The seigneury was left to his wife, Charlotte Denys and their four children who sold the seigneury to John Taylor Bondfield, a merchant, in 1764. In 1781, Governor Frederick Haldimand purchased the seigneury from Greenwood Higginson, a London merchant in the name of the British government and constructed a residence known as the Governor's Cottage which was to house the military commander-in-chief during times of war. Originally occupied by General F. von Riedesal (1738-1800), the cottage was later used by governors and commanders-in-chief as a summer residence. The commanders-in-chief were responsible for the administration of the seigneury and employed local seigneurial agents as their representatives. In 1870 the seigneury was turned over to the Canadian government.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1706-1890, 15 cm (Unaccessioned)
The seigneury of Sorel records consist of administrative and financial documents. The administrative records consist of incoming correspondence to the Earl of Dalhousie from prospective settlers concerning requests for lots, 1820-1821, and copies of the sales agreement, between Greenwood Higginson and Frederick Haldimand, 1789. There is correspondence of the seigneurial agents with the military secretary on rents and land allocations, 1798-1842; and with tenants on settlement of the lots and taxes, 1817, 1849; and outoing correspondence of the military secretary to tenants on financial matters, 1799-1862; histories of the seigneury, ca 1825-ca 1842; a list of tenants and their dues, 1 February to 31 March, 1840; minutes of an assembly of habitants of the parish of Sorel, 1841; list of lot transfers which took place between 1822 and 1896; and a court judgement on the seizure of land, 1874. The financial records consist of agreements between seigneurs and tenants, 1706-1763; deeds of land sales, 1790-1847; land concessions, 1787-1788; and lot exchanges, 1800, 1828.
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE
A native of Alix, Alberta, Fred Stone graduated from McGill with honours in economics in 1931, and earned an M.A. in 1933 for his research on unemployment. From 1934 until 1937 he was secretary to Premiers Reid and Aberhart of Alberta. Thereafter he worked as special representative of the Canadian Association of Adult Education attached to the Canadian Pacific Railway. He joined the C.P.R. in 1942, and rose to the presidency of Canadian Pacific Investments.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Mimeographed, 1972-1976, 7 cm (M.G. 2082)
A brief autobiographical notice, 1976, accompanies a mimeographed anthology of Stone's humourous anecdotes, 1972.
Industrial consultant Sir James Taylor was born in Sunderland, England. He received his B.A. (1923) and Ph.D. (1925) in mathematics and physics from Cambridge, as well as doctoral degrees from Utrecht (1927) and Durham (1931). In 1928 he joined the research staff of Imperial Chemical Industries, and rose to become its director (1952-1964). Taylor undertook research consulting for a number of electrical, metals, and chemical firms, and has served on government and learned bodies in the science and technology field. He was chairman of the Royal Society of Arts from 1967 to 1971, and was knighted in 1966.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Photocopy, 1971, 1 item (M.G. 2011)
A speech delivered by Taylor at McGill in 1971 outlines the history and work of the Royal Society of Arts.
SEE SECTION XII. FAMILY AND PRIVATE LIFE